4.4.a At several points during the day, players are instructed to "check reactions":
1. at the beginning of each phase;
2. after each step;
3. after a player plays a card, a quick action, or passes.
4. after a player plays a Reaction.
Remark. Reactions are not checked after an internal action is played. Reactions created by an internal action will only be played after the end of the effect containing that internal action.
4.4.b When that happens, if there is an Emblem-Reaction in Limbo, the first player in initiative order who controls a reaction in Limbo chooses one of them and plays it.
4.4.c Once that Reaction has been played, Reactions are checked again.
Remark. If more than one player has Reactions to play in Limbo, the player with initiative plays all their Reaction before the next players play their own. If new Reactions are created during this process, they may be chosen by their controller just like already existing Reactions.
5.5.a Playing a Reaction follows the same process as playing a Spell, with the following differences:
5.5.b Reactions do not change zones during the declaration of intent.
5.5.c Reaction usually do not have costs, but they may get extra cost due to some passive abilitys such as Tough.
5.5.d If a Reaction has a cost, its controller may chose to play it wihout paying its cost. In this case, the Reaction has no effect.
5.5.e When a Reaction's resolution is done, that Reaction ceases to exist.
6.3.a Some abilitys are Reactions. They are written "Triggerl Effect".
6.3.b Reactions are additive modifiers which apply to events matching their trigger and add the atomic action "Create an Emblem-Reaction in Limbo with the effect of that reaction".
6.3.c A Reaction that modified an event has been "activated" by that event.
6.3.d A reaction has to exist before the event that triggers it, except if it is a reaction of an object that triggers specifically on that object entering a visible zone.
Example. Régis plays Mind Apotheosis and puts Asmodeus in play while resolving Mind Apotheosis' effect. The reaction of Asmodeus triggers, even though it did not exist before the event that triggered it.
6.3.e A reaction does not need to exist after the event that triggers it.
Example. Bob plays Mana Reaping on Alice's Armored Jammer. As Mana Reaping resolves, Armored Jammer's reaction "When I leave your Landmark zone - Sabotage" triggers, even though it does not exist anymore after the event.
6.3.f A given Reaction cannot be activated more than 100 times in a single day. If a Reaction would be activated a 101st time, the event that would activate it stays unmodified.
1.2.4.a Each line in the textbox of an object is a separate ability.
1.2.4.b Some abilitys are represented by keywords. Several keywords, representing different abilitys, may appear the same line.
1.2.4.c There are four types of abilitys:
1.2.6.a An effect is a change in the game state that happens during the resolution of a spell, a quick action, a reaction, or a daily effect.
1.2.6.b Effects may have several steps. There is usually one step for each verb in an effect, unless these verbs are said to happen simultaneously.
1.2.6.c Effects are usually mandatory. Optional steps use the word "may".
1.2.6.d Some steps are conditional. They are written "If [condition], do [step]". Conditional steps whose condition is not met are ignored.
1.2.6.e Some steps contain internal actions which can be played if the controller of the effect wishes to pay their cost. They are written "You may [pay cost] to [do effect]". Internal actions whose cost is not paid are ignored.
1.2.6.f If part of an effect cannot happen, that part is ignored, but the rest of the effect happens normally.
1.3.2.a Each day is divided in five phases.
1.3.2.b In the Morning phase, the opponent of the first player becomes the first player (Succeed), players ready their Characters, Permanents, and Mana Orbs (Prepare), draw two cards (Draw) and may put one card from their Hand in their Mana zone.
1.3.2.c In the Noon phase, nothing happens unless one or more reactions trigger "At Noon".
1.3.2.d In the Afternoon phase, starting with the first player, players alternate taking turns until both have passed; during their turn, a player may play any number of quick actions and then either play a card or pass; once a player has passed, they cannot take more turns this day.
1.3.2.e In the Dusk phase, players sum up the statistics of all the characters in each of their expeditions. An expedition moves forward if one of its statistics is:
1.4.1 Can't beats can
1.4.1.a If a rule or a passive ability says that it is impossible to do something, and a cost or an effect tries to do that thing, then the thing cannot be done.
1.4.1.b An impossible cost cannot be paid.
1.4.1.c An impossible effect cannot be performed. If other parts of the effect can happen, the rest of the effect resolves normally.
1.4.1.d If it impossible to modify an impossible event, even if the modified event would itself be possible.
1.4.2 Specific beats general
1.4.2.a If a card allows a player to do something that they cannot normally do, or to do it in a different way, the card takes priority.
1.4.3 My cards, my zones
1.4.3.a If a card ownered by a player would move to a zone belonging to another player, it goes to its owner's corresponding zone instead.
1.4.4 New zone, new object
1.4.4.a Objects do not change Zones, the items that represent them does. Most effects that relate to an object in a zone will not be able to follow it to another zone, a common exception being the event which moves an object.
1.4.5 Initiative order
1.4.5.a If both players need to take decisions simultaneously, the player with initiative (the player who is currently taking their turn, or the first player during non-Afternoon phases) must decide first. If that choice involves an object from a visible zone, their opponent knows which object they have chosen. If the choice involves a card from a hidden zone, they must make their choice explicit, but they do not need to reveal the chosen card.
++Example. Ninette plays a game against Lithium. During her turn, Ninette plays Kitsune from her Hand. Kitsune has the reaction " Each player may Resupply". She must let Lithium know whether or not she chooses to Resupply before he takes his decision. However, if she chooses to Resupply, Lithium will not see Ninette's top card until after he decides whether to Resupply or not.
In his turn, Lithium plays Anubis , which has the reaction " Each player sacrifices a Character". Lithium must choose which Character to sacrifice before Ninette, and Ninette knows which Character he chose to sacrifice when she makes her choice. Both Characters are sacrificed simultaneously.++
1.4.6 Nothing is forever
1.4.6.a The interaction of some cards may lead to seemingly endless loops. In order to resolve these situations, there are limits to the number of times things can happen in a single day.
1.4.6.b A given quick action may only be played a hundred times per day.
1.4.6.c A given reaction may only activate a hundred times per day.
2.1.a Objects exist in every visible zone. Each object belongs to a single zone at any given time.
2.1.b Objects can be represented in different ways: Altered cards, tokens, Adventure cards, halves of Tumult cards, and emblems.
2.1.c Objects never change zones. When a cost or an effect "moves" an object, it moves the item representing that object, which becomes a new object with a new timestamp if it ends up in a visible zone. Effects relating to the old object do not apply to the new one (see Rule 2.1.e).
Example. Lithium has Haven, Bravos Bastion and plays Kuwat, the Dissenter from Reserve. This triggers the two reactions of Kuwat, its native " Sacrifice a Character" and the one granted by Haven "
I gain 1 boost". If Lithium decide to play the
reaction first and to sacrifice Kuwat, then the
reaction will not boost Kuwat in the Discard pile as it is not the same object as Kuwat in the Expedition zone which triggered the
reaction.
2.1.d If a token would leave the Expedition zone, it ceases to exist immediately after joining its new zone. This is an additive event-modifying rule.
2.1.e If an ability refers to a card or an object moving from any zone to a visible zone (as part of a cost, a trigger, or an effect), that ability can find the new object in its destination zone. This is an exception to Rule 2.1.c .
++Example. Moonlight Jellyfish has the reaction "When I'm sacrificed, if I'm not Fleeting — Put me in Reserve".
2.2.1.a A type is one of the following: Character, Emblem, Hero, Permanent, Region, Spell.
2.2.1.b Each object has a single type.
2.2.1.c The type of a card is written on the type line, just below the name of the card. It is the first word of the type line, before the dash.
2.2.1.d The type of a token is Character.
Remark. The tokens printed by Equinox have the word "Token" in their type line. This is for clarity and has no rules implications.
2.2.1.e The type of an object represented by an Adventure card or half a Tumult card is Region.
2.2.1.f The type of an object represented by a face-down card in the Mana zone is Mana Orb.
2.2.1.g The type of an emblem is Emblem.
Remark. The type Emblem does not appear on cards. It is reserved for temporary objects in Limbo created by reactions or effects whose impact on the game lasts longer than their own resolution.
2.2.1.h When a cost or an effect refers to "a [type]", it refers to an object in play with the appropriate type, unless it specifies a specific zone.
Example. Banishing Gate has the effect "Discard target Character or Permanent". When that Spell is played, its controller must choose a Character or Permanent in play. They cannot choose a Character or Permanent from another zone, such as the Reserve.
2.2.1.i When a cost or an effect checks whether a specific card or object is "a [type]", it checks whether that card or that object has the appropriate type, regardless of its location.
Example. Ada Lovelace has the reaction " You may put a card from your hand in Reserve. If it's a Permanent, draw a card". If a player choses to put a Permanent card in Reserve during the resolution of this reaction, they draw a card.
2.2.2.a Characters, Spells, Permanents, Regions, and Emblems may have sub-types.
2.2.2.b Heroes have no sub-types.
2.2.2.c An object may have any number of sub-types.
2.2.2.d The list of character sub-types is: Adventurer, Animal, Apprentice, Artist, Bureaucrat, Citizen, Companion, Deity, Dragon, Druid, Elemental, Engineer, Fairy, Leviathan, Mage, Messenger, Noble, Plant, Robot, Soldier, Scholar, Spirit, Titan, Trainer.
2.2.2.e The list of permanent sub-types is: Landmark.
2.2.2.f The list of region sub-types is: Forest (), Mountain (
), Water (
).
2.2.2.g The list of spell sub-types is: Boon, Conjuration, Disruption, Maneuver, Song.
2.2.2.h The list of emblem sub-types is: Reaction, Ongoing.
2.2.2.i The sub-types of a card are written on the type line, just below the name of the card. They are to the right of the dash; if there is more than one sub-type, they are separated by commas.
2.2.2.j The sub-types of a token are defined by the effect that creates it. They are written after the statistics of the token, separated by commas.
Example. Foundry Armorer has the reaction " Create a Brassbug 2/2/2 Robot token in target Expedition". The sub-type of the token created when this reaction resolves is "Robot".
2.2.2.k The sub-types of the hero region, companion region, and the arena are Forest (), Mountain (
), and Water (
).
Remark. Regions represented by face-down Tumult cards have no sub-types.
2.2.2.l The sub-types of regions represented face-up Tumult cards are described by symbols on the side of the regions.
2.2.2.m The sub-type of an emblem created as a reaction triggers is Reaction. The sub-type of an emblem created by an effect that lasts longer than its own resolution is Ongoing.
Example. Aloe Vera has the reaction "At Noonl Resupply". As the Noon phase begins, Aloe Vera's controller creates an Emblem-Reaction in Limbo with the text "Resupply". When that Reaction is played, its effect resolves, then it ceases to exist.
Example. Celebration Day has the effect "Expeditions can´t move forward this Day". When that effect resolves, an Emblem-Ongoing is created in Limbo with the passive ability "Expeditions can't move forward" and the duration "this Day".
2.2.2.n When a cost or an effect refers to "a sub-type", it refers to an object in play with the appropriate sub-type.
Example. Three Little Pigs has the reaction " If you control two or more Landmarks, I gain 1 boost". When that Reaction resolves, it only counts the Landmarks in the Landmark zone, not those in Reserve or in the Discard pile.
2.2.2.o When a cost or an effect checks whether a specific card or object is "a [sub-type]", it checks whether that card or that object has the appropriate sub-type, regardless of its location.
2.2.2.p Some effects have objects gain or lose types. These effects actually mean gaining or losing sub-types.
Example. The Kraken has the ability "All regions are and lose their other types". When the Kraken is in play, regions keep the type Region and lose the
and
sub-types.
2.2.3.a The name of an object is a series of words and symbols.
2.2.3.b An object has only one name, even if it contains several words.
2.2.3.c The name of an object is its English name, even if it is represented by a card printed in a different language.
Example. Fée Clochette is the French version of Tinker Bell. The name of an object represented by that card is Tinker Bell.
2.2.3.d The name of an object represented by a Permanent card is written in the middle of the card, below the rarity gem and above the type line.
2.2.3.e The name of an object represented by a non-Permanent card is written on the top of the card, below the rarity gem.
Remark. Cards with the same name may have different characteristics, if they have different raritys, different factions, or they are unique.
2.2.3.f The name of a token is defined by the effect that creates it. It is composed of the words written before its statistics.
Example. Ordis Cadets has the reaction " Create an Ordis Recruit 1/1/1 Soldier token in my Expedition". The name of the token created when this Reaction resolves is "Ordis Recruit".
2.2.3.g Emblems have no name.
2.2.8.a A faction is one of the following: Axiom, Bravos, Lyra, Muna, Ordis, Yzmir.
2.2.8.b Some objects have no faction. They are called neutral.
2.2.8.c The faction of an object represented by a card is defined by its faction symbol and its background color.
2.2.9.a Statistics are numbers.
2.2.9.b There are three statistics: Forest (), Mountain (
), and Water (
).
2.2.9.c Only Characters have statistics.
2.2.9.d The statistics of a Character card are represented on the left of the card, with on top and in green,
in the middle and in orange, and
on the bottom and in blue.
2.2.9.e The statistics of a token are defined by the effect that creates it. They are written between the name and the sub-types of the token, separated by forward slashes, with the statistic first, the
statistic second, and the
statistic third.
Example. Kojo & Booda has the reaction "At Noon, if you are the first player-Create a Booda 2/2/2 Companion token in your companion Expedition". The statistics of this token are 2, 2, and 2.
2.2.10.a Abilitys are either quick actions, reactions, passive abilitys, or effects.
2.2.10.b The abilitys of an object represented by a card are written in the ability box, below the illustration.
2.2.10.c Text in italics in the ability box has no existence rules-wise.
2.2.10.d Some abilitys are written in a box inside the ability box with a coloured background and white or yellow text. Such abilitys are support abilitys.
++Example. The textbox of Haven Trainee has the following text:
I gain two boosts.
"All right, lad, show me what you've learned."
: The next Character you play this turn gains 1 boost. (Discard me from Reserve to do this.)
Haven Trainee (rare) has a two abilitys: " I gain two boosts." and "
: The next Character you play this turn gains 1 boost.". The first one is an in play ability and the second one is a support ability. "All right, lad, show me what you've learned." is flavour text and "(Discard me from Reserve to do this.)" is reminder text.++
2.2.10.e The abilitys of a Character represented by a token are defined by the effect that creates it. They are written between quotation marks and preceded by "with", after the location in which the token is created.
Example. Lindiwe & Maw has the quick action ": Create a Maw 0/0/0 Companion token in your companion Expedition with "When you sacrifice a Character l I gain two boosts". This action costs 1 more if you are not the first player". The token created by this quick action has the reaction "When you sacrifice a Character l I gain two boosts".
2.2.10.f Unless otherwise specified, the abilitys of an object only work while this object is in play.
2.2.10.g Support abilitys only work while the object is in the Reserve.
2.2.10.h Quick actions are written "Cost: Effect".
Remark. Some quick actions use symbols as part of their costs: means "Exhaust me" and
means "Discard me from Reserve". See 7.1.4 "Cost symbols".
2.2.10.i Reactions are written "Triggerl Effect".
Remark. Some reactions use symbols as triggers: means "When I enter play from anywhere l";
means "When I am played from Handl";
means "When I am played from Reservel". See 7.1.1 "Trigger symbols"
2.2.10.j Passive abilitys are written as statements. They may create or alter rules, change the characteristics of objects, or modify the way costs and effects affect the game.
2.2.10.k Effects are written as instructions to change to the game state.
4.2.a A day contains five phases: Morning, Noon, Afternoon, Dusk, and Night.
4.2.b At the beginning of each phase, Reactions are checked.
Remark. Only reactions that trigger "at [that phase]" should exist in Limbo at that moment.
4.2.c During Morning, Dusk, and Night, some daily effects resolve.
4.2.d After each daily effect, Reactions are checked.
Remark. After a daily effect, both reactions that triggered during this effect and reactions that trigger "after [that daily effect]" exist in Limbo. They can be played in any order, as described in Section 4.4.
4.2.e Once there are no more Reactions in Limbo, the next daily effect is resolved; if there are no more daily effects in this phase, the next phase starts.
4.2.f During Afternoon, the players take turns in succession, until all players have passed.
4.2.2.a There are no daily effect during Noon.
Remark. Nothing happens during Noon unless an "At Noon" reaction triggers.
4.2.3.a During Afternoon, players alternate taking turns until all players have passed.
4.2.3.b The first player takes the first turn.
4.2.3.c Turn structure
1. The player whose turn it is plays a quick action from an object they control, plays a card from their Hand or Reserve, or passes;
2. Check Reactions;
3. If a quick action was played, the turn continues and goes back to 1;
4. If the player played a card or passed, the turn ends:
4.2.5.a There are two daily effects during night.
4.2.5.b Rest Characters in the Expedition zone are sent to Reserve.
Remark. A number of statuses (Asleep , Anchored
, Fleeting
) and abilitys (Eternal) modify the Rest effect.
4.2.5.c Clean-up Each player chooses as many objects in their Reserve as their Hero's reserve limit and as many objects in their Landmark zone as their Hero's landmark limit. All non-selected objects are discarded simultaneously.
Remark. The first player must make their choice known before the second player chooses which objects to discard, and so on, in initiative order (see Rule 6.1.g ).
4.2.5.d If a player has no Hero, their reserve limit and landmark limit are equal to 2.
Remark. A player may have excess objects in their Reserve and or Landmark zone at the end of the day, if the clean-up effect has been modified, the limits have changed, or a reaction triggered off clean-up and put some objects in one of these zones.
5.1.1.a At certain times during the day, players have the possibility to "play" cards, quick actions, internal actions, or reactions.
5.1.1.b During their turn, a player may play a card or a quick action.
5.1.1.c When a player resolves an effect containing a internal action, they can play that internal action.
5.1.1.d When Reactions are checked, the first player in initiative order who owns a Reaction in Limbo must play a Reaction.
5.1.2.a The process of playing a card, quick action, reaction, or internal action has three parts: declare intent, pay costs, and resolution.
5.1.2.b In the declaration of intent, a player must, in no particular order:
1. Reveal the card being played, if it is in a hidden zone (usually, the Hand);
2. Choose modes, targets, and optional costs;
3. Declare how costs will be paid.
5.1.2.c The game state should not change during the declaration of intent. Once all these decisions have been taken, check whether the declaration is legal. If it is, proceed to the payment of costs. If it is not, the player must take different decisions (including the decision to play that particular card, quick action, reaction, or internal action).
5.1.2.d In the payment of costs, all costs must be paid simultaneously, as described in 6.4.
5.1.2.e During resolution, a Character card joins an Expedition, a Permanent card joins the Landmark zone, and a Spell, quick action, reaction or internal action performs its effect, as described in 6.5.
6.1.a Costs and effect are sequences of instructions that affect the game state. Paying a cost or resolving an effect consist in following these instructions.
6.1.b An effect may involve multiple steps.
6.1.c There is a separate step for each verb in an effect description, unless these verbs are said to happen "simultaneously"
Example. Spy Craft has the effect "Sabotage, then Resupply". The resolution of Spy Craft involves two steps. In the first step, the controller of Spy Craft performs Sabotage. In the second step, they perform Resupply.
6.1.d Costs always have a single step.
Example. Subhash & Marmo have the Reaction "At Noon l You may pay and put a card from your Hand in Reserve to create a Brassbug 2/2/2 Robot token in target Expedition". Paying
and putting a card from Hand to to Reserve happen in the same step.
6.1.e A single step may involve multiple objects. In this case, there is a separate atomic action for each affected object.
Example. Open the Gates has the effect "Create two Ordis Recruit 1/1/1 Soldier tokens in each of you Expeditions". There is only one step in the resolution of Open the Gates. It has four atomic actions, one for each token.
6.1.f Atomic actions in a single Step happen simultaneously.
6.1.g Some steps require decisions by more than one player. Such choices are made in initiative order. If that choice involves an object from a visible zone, other players know which object has been chosen. If the choice involves a card from a hidden zone, they must make their choice explicit, but they do not need to reveal the chosen card.
++Example. Ninette plays a game against Lithium. During her turn, Ninette plays Kitsune from her Hand. Kitsune has the reaction " Each player may Resupply". She must let Lithium know whether or not she chooses to Resupply before he takes his decision. However, if she chooses to Resupply, Lithium will not see Ninette's top card until after he decides whether to Resupply or not.
In his turn, Lithium plays Anubis , which has the reaction " Each player sacrifices a Character". Lithium must choose which Character to sacrifice before Ninette, and Ninette knows which Character he chose to sacrifice when she makes her choice. Both Characters are sacrificed simultaneously.++
6.4.a Costs always have a single step, even if their description involves multiple verbs.
6.4.b A player may always decline to pay a cost.
6.4.c If a player chooses to pay a cost, they must be able to pay it in full.
6.4.d If a player declines to pay the cost of a card, they may not play that card. The game goes back to the point where the player was offered the possibility of playing that card.
6.4.e If a player declines to pay the cost of a quick action, they may not play that quick action. The game goes back to the point where the player was offered the possibility of playing that quick action.
6.4.f If a player declines to pay the cost of an internal action, that internal action is ignored and the effect that contains it continues to resolve.
6.4.g If a player declines to pay the cost of an Emblem-Reaction, that Emblem ceases to exist. Reactions are checked again.
Remark. Reactions do not have base costs, but they may have extra costs, for example if they target an opposing Character with Tough.
6.5.a Effects are usually mandatory.
6.5.b Some effects have optional steps. They are written "You may [do step]". The controller of the effect chooses whether to do [step] or not just before that step would happen. If they choose not to, the step is ignored and the effect continues resolving.
6.5.c Some effects have conditional steps. They are written "If [condition], [do step]" or "[Do Step] unless [condition]". The condition is evaluated just before that step would happen. If it is false in the first case, or true in the second, the step is ignored and the effect continues resolving.
6.5.d Some conditional effects are written "[Do X]; if you did, [do Y]" or "[You may do X]; if you did, [do Y]". The condition is true if the player started do [do X], even if that event was modified.
6.5.e Some effects are modal. They are written "Choose on" followed by multiple lines starting with •. The choice of mode is done when the spell, quick action, Reaction or internal action is declared, before its resolution. Modes that were not chosen are ignored.
6.5.f If part of an effect cannot be performed, it is ignored; the remainder of the effect happens as normal.
Example. Anubis has the reaction " Each player sacrifices a Character". If a player controls no Character and thus cannot sacrifice a Character, the other players still have to sacrifice a Character.
6.5.g Some effects include an internal action. They are written "You may [pay cost] to [do effect]". Paying the cost of an internal action is optional; if the player declines to pay the cost, the internal action is ignored and the resolution of the effect resumes.
7.1.1.a The symbol means "When I enter play".
7.1.1.b The symbol means "When I am played from Hand".
7.1.1.c The symbol means "When I am played from Reserve".
Remark. If an object enters play without being played (either because it is a token or as the result of an effect), its reaction triggers, but not its
or
.
7.2.1 I
7.2.1.a When an ability uses the first person, it refers to the object that is bearing it.
7.2.1.b When an emblem or a reaction uses the first person, it refers to the object which created that emblem or reaction.
Example. Ratatoskr has the ability " I gain 2 boosts". When that reaction resolves, the object only the Ratatoskr bearing that ability gains 2 boosts.
7.2.2 You
7.2.2.a When an ability uses the second person, it refers to its controller.
Example. Charge! has the effect " Characters you control gain 1 boost". When Charge! resolves, the Characters controlled by Charge!'s controller gain 1 boost.
7.2.3 They
7.2.3.a Altered uses the singular "they" for players.
7.2.4 It
7.2.4.a Altered uses the neutral third person for objects and cards.
7.3.1.a An "event activates [a reaction]" means that that event has been modified by that reaction (by creating an Emblem-Reaction) with that Reaction's effect.
7.3.1.b Some steps say "Activate [a reaction]". When that step occurs, it is modified by that reaction.
7.3.1.c Some earlier printings have effects that say "Activate [a trigger]" instead of a
7.3.1.d If an ability of an object activates a trigger of another object, the reaction that triggers is created by the second object, not the first.
Example. Brassbug Hub has the reaction " I gain three Kelon counters" and Dr. Frankenstein has the reaction "
You may activate the
triggers of target Permanent you control". If Brassbug Hub is chosen as the target Dr. Frankenstein's reaction, Brassbug Hub gains three Kelon counters, not Dr. Frankenstein.
7.3.1.e Some abilitys say that [a trigger] "cannot activate". Reactions containing this trigger cannot trigger, whether naturally or through another effect that would activate them.
Example. The Council has the ability "The ,
, and
triggers of Characters facing me don't activate and Hua Mulan has the ability "
I lose Fleeting
". If Hua Mulan is played from Reserve in the expedition facing The Council, it does not loose Fleeting
.
7.3.2.a "After you" means "End the turn once there are no Reactions in Limbo".
7.3.2.b "After you" is not passing.
Example. [ Alice] have the support ability ": After You". If a player plays this action, the next player in initiative order gets the initiative as soon as there are no reactions in Limbo. Alice's owner has not passed, and they will be able to play actions and cards in this afternoon.
7.4.5.a Tough is a passive ability that appears on Characters and Permanents.
7.4.5.b Tough is always followed by a number.
7.4.5.c Spells, quick actions, reactions, and internal actions targeting an opposing object with Tough cost X more.
Remark. If a Spell is played "for free", the extra cost from Tough X is also waived.