Français English Italiano

Altered Glossary

Loaded JSON file : dictionary_2024-09-14_15-00-36.json
Number of entries : 17
View content sources

1.2.2 Objects

1.2.2.a Objects are the game pieces of Altered.

1.2.2.b Most things in a game of Altered are either objects, properties of objects or sets of objects.

1.2.2.c Objects have characteristics:


1.2.2.d An object may lack some of these characteristics.

1.2.4 Abilities

1.2.4.a Each line in the textbox of an object is a separate ability.

1.2.4.b Some abilitys are represented by keywords. Several keywords, representing different abilitys, may appear the same line.

1.2.4.c There are four types of abilitys:


1.2.4.d Abilitys only work when the object is in play (i.e. in the Expedition zone, the Hero zone, or the Landmark zone) unless it specifies that it works in another zone. Furthermore:

2.1 Objects

2.1.a Objects exist in every visible zone. Each object belongs to a single zone at any given time.

2.1.b Objects can be represented in different ways: Altered cards, tokens, Adventure cards, halves of Tumult cards, and emblems.

2.1.c Objects never change zones. When a cost or an effect "moves" an object, it moves the item representing that object, which becomes a new object with a new timestamp if it ends up in a visible zone. Effects relating to the old object do not apply to the new one (see Rule 2.1.e).

Example. Lithium has Haven, Bravos Bastion and plays Kuwat, the Dissenter from Reserve. This triggers the two reactions of Kuwat, its native "etb Sacrifice a Character" and the one granted by Haven "reserve I gain 1 boost". If Lithium decide to play the etb reaction first and to sacrifice Kuwat, then the reserve reaction will not boost Kuwat in the Discard pile as it is not the same object as Kuwat in the Expedition zone which triggered the reserve reaction.

2.1.d If a token would leave the Expedition zone, it ceases to exist immediately after joining its new zone. This is an additive event-modifying rule.

2.1.e If an ability refers to a card or an object moving from any zone to a visible zone (as part of a cost, a trigger, or an effect), that ability can find the new object in its destination zone. This is an exception to Rule 2.1.c .

++Example. Moonlight Jellyfish has the reaction "When I'm sacrificed, if I'm not Fleeting — Put me in Reserve".


2.1.f Rule 2.1.e can apply through more than one zone change, as long as they all come from the ability itself.

Example. Coppélia has the reaction "When I go to Reserve from your Handl You may play me for free and I gain Asleep" endormi. Coppélia in Reserve, Coppélia in Limbo, and Coppélia in the Expedition zone are three different objects, but the effect of Coppélia's reaction in Reserve can act on the two other Coppélias as it is that effect that moved the card from Reserve to Limbo and to the Expedition zone.

2.1.g Cards in hidden zones are not objects.

2.1.h Zones are not objects: they are sets of objects or cards.

2.1.i Counters are not objects: they are markers placed on objects.

2.2.1 Type

2.2.1.a A type is one of the following: Character, Emblem, Hero, Permanent, Region, Spell.

2.2.1.b Each object has a single type.

2.2.1.c The type of a card is written on the type line, just below the name of the card. It is the first word of the type line, before the dash.

2.2.1.d The type of a token is Character.

Remark. The tokens printed by Equinox have the word "Token" in their type line. This is for clarity and has no rules implications.

2.2.1.e The type of an object represented by an Adventure card or half a Tumult card is Region.

2.2.1.f The type of an object represented by a face-down card in the Mana zone is Mana Orb.

2.2.1.g The type of an emblem is Emblem.

Remark. The type Emblem does not appear on cards. It is reserved for temporary objects in Limbo created by reactions or effects whose impact on the game lasts longer than their own resolution.

2.2.1.h When a cost or an effect refers to "a [type]", it refers to an object in play with the appropriate type, unless it specifies a specific zone.

Example. Banishing Gate has the effect "Discard target Character or Permanent". When that Spell is played, its controller must choose a Character or Permanent in play. They cannot choose a Character or Permanent from another zone, such as the Reserve.

2.2.1.i When a cost or an effect checks whether a specific card or object is "a [type]", it checks whether that card or that object has the appropriate type, regardless of its location.

Example. Ada Lovelace has the reaction "reserve You may put a card from your hand in Reserve. If it's a Permanent, draw a card". If a player choses to put a Permanent card in Reserve during the resolution of this reaction, they draw a card.

2.2.2 Subtypes

2.2.2.a Characters, Spells, Permanents, Regions, and Emblems may have sub-types.

2.2.2.b Heroes have no sub-types.

2.2.2.c An object may have any number of sub-types.

2.2.2.d The list of character sub-types is: Adventurer, Animal, Apprentice, Artist, Bureaucrat, Citizen, Companion, Deity, Dragon, Druid, Elemental, Engineer, Fairy, Leviathan, Mage, Messenger, Noble, Plant, Robot, Soldier, Scholar, Spirit, Titan, Trainer.

2.2.2.e The list of permanent sub-types is: Landmark.

2.2.2.f The list of region sub-types is: Forest (forest), Mountain (mountain), Water (water).

2.2.2.g The list of spell sub-types is: Boon, Conjuration, Disruption, Maneuver, Song.

2.2.2.h The list of emblem sub-types is: Reaction, Ongoing.

2.2.2.i The sub-types of a card are written on the type line, just below the name of the card. They are to the right of the dash; if there is more than one sub-type, they are separated by commas.

2.2.2.j The sub-types of a token are defined by the effect that creates it. They are written after the statistics of the token, separated by commas.

Example. Foundry Armorer has the reaction "reserve Create a Brassbug 2/2/2 Robot token in target Expedition". The sub-type of the token created when this reaction resolves is "Robot".

2.2.2.k The sub-types of the hero region, companion region, and the arena are Forest (forest), Mountain (mountain), and Water (water).

Remark. Regions represented by face-down Tumult cards have no sub-types.

2.2.2.l The sub-types of regions represented face-up Tumult cards are described by symbols on the side of the regions.

2.2.2.m The sub-type of an emblem created as a reaction triggers is Reaction. The sub-type of an emblem created by an effect that lasts longer than its own resolution is Ongoing.

Example. Aloe Vera has the reaction "At Noonl Resupply". As the Noon phase begins, Aloe Vera's controller creates an Emblem-Reaction in Limbo with the text "Resupply". When that Reaction is played, its effect resolves, then it ceases to exist.

Example. Celebration Day has the effect "Expeditions can´t move forward this Day". When that effect resolves, an Emblem-Ongoing is created in Limbo with the passive ability "Expeditions can't move forward" and the duration "this Day".

2.2.2.n When a cost or an effect refers to "a sub-type", it refers to an object in play with the appropriate sub-type.

Example. Three Little Pigs has the reaction "etb If you control two or more Landmarks, I gain 1 boost". When that Reaction resolves, it only counts the Landmarks in the Landmark zone, not those in Reserve or in the Discard pile.

2.2.2.o When a cost or an effect checks whether a specific card or object is "a [sub-type]", it checks whether that card or that object has the appropriate sub-type, regardless of its location.

2.2.2.p Some effects have objects gain or lose types. These effects actually mean gaining or losing sub-types.

Example. The Kraken has the ability "All regions are water and lose their other types". When the Kraken is in play, regions keep the type Region and lose the forest and mountain sub-types.

2.2.3 Name

2.2.3.a The name of an object is a series of words and symbols.

2.2.3.b An object has only one name, even if it contains several words.

2.2.3.c The name of an object is its English name, even if it is represented by a card printed in a different language.

Example. Fée Clochette is the French version of Tinker Bell. The name of an object represented by that card is Tinker Bell.

2.2.3.d The name of an object represented by a Permanent card is written in the middle of the card, below the rarity gem and above the type line.

2.2.3.e The name of an object represented by a non-Permanent card is written on the top of the card, below the rarity gem.

Remark. Cards with the same name may have different characteristics, if they have different raritys, different factions, or they are unique.

2.2.3.f The name of a token is defined by the effect that creates it. It is composed of the words written before its statistics.

Example. Ordis Cadets has the reaction "etb Create an Ordis Recruit 1/1/1 Soldier token in my Expedition". The name of the token created when this Reaction resolves is "Ordis Recruit".

2.2.3.g Emblems have no name.

2.2.4 Rarity

2.2.4.a The rarity of an object is one of the following: common, rare, or unique.

2.2.4.b The rarity of a card is indicated by a gem just above the card's name. A gray gem $cmomon indicates a common card; a blue gem rare indicates a rare card; an orange gem unique indicates a unique card. It is also written as a letter (C, R, or U) on the legal line at the bottom of the card.

2.2.4.c Heroes, regions, tokens, and emblems have no rarity.

2.2.6 Hand Cost

2.2.6.a The Hand Cost of an object is a number.

2.2.6.b The Hand Cost of a card is written as a number in a circle on the top left of the card, just above and to the left of the Reserve cost.

2.2.6.c Tokens have a hand cost of 0.

2.2.6.d Emblems have no hand cost.

2.2.7 Reserve Cost

2.2.7.a The Reserve cost of an object is a number.

2.2.7.b The Reserve cost of a card is written as a number in a circle on the top left of the card, just below and to the right of the Hand cost.

2.2.7.c Tokens have a reserve cost of 0.

2.2.7.d Emblems have no reserve cost.

2.2.8 Faction

2.2.8.a A faction is one of the following: Axiom, Bravos, Lyra, Muna, Ordis, Yzmir.

2.2.8.b Some objects have no faction. They are called neutral.

2.2.8.c The faction of an object represented by a card is defined by its faction symbol and its background color.


2.2.8.d Tokens, reactions, and emblems have no faction.

Remark. The tokens printed by Equinox have a background color and a faction symbol. This is purely for aesthetic reasons and has no rules implications.

2.2.13 Duration

2.2.13.a A duration is either "this Turn", "this Afternoon", or "this Day".

2.2.13.b Only Ongoing Emblems have a duration.

2.2.13.c The duration of an Ongoing Emblem is defined by the event that created it.

Example. Twinkle Twinkle has the support ability "support: The next card you play this turn costs 1 less". When its effect resolves, its controller creates an Ongoing Emblem in Limbo with the passive ability "The next card you play costs 1 less" and the duration "this turn". When the current turn ends, this Ongoing Emblem ceases to exist, whether its controller has played a card or not.

3.2.8 Limbo

3.2.8.a Limbo is a shared, visible zone.

Remark. Limbo is usually not represented as a specific physical space in a game: it is a transitory zone, which only contains cards when they are played and short-lived Emblems.

4.4 Checking reactions

4.4.a At several points during the day, players are instructed to "check reactions":
1. at the beginning of each phase;
2. after each step;
3. after a player plays a card, a quick action, or passes.
4. after a player plays a Reaction.

Remark. Reactions are not checked after an internal action is played. Reactions created by an internal action will only be played after the end of the effect containing that internal action.

4.4.b When that happens, if there is an Emblem-Reaction in Limbo, the first player in initiative order who controls a reaction in Limbo chooses one of them and plays it.

4.4.c Once that Reaction has been played, Reactions are checked again.

Remark. If more than one player has Reactions to play in Limbo, the player with initiative plays all their Reaction before the next players play their own. If new Reactions are created during this process, they may be chosen by their controller just like already existing Reactions.

6.3 Reactions

6.3.a Some abilitys are Reactions. They are written "Triggerl Effect".

6.3.b Reactions are additive modifiers which apply to events matching their trigger and add the atomic action "Create an Emblem-Reaction in Limbo with the effect of that reaction".

6.3.c A Reaction that modified an event has been "activated" by that event.

6.3.d A reaction has to exist before the event that triggers it, except if it is a reaction of an object that triggers specifically on that object entering a visible zone.

Example. Régis plays Mind Apotheosis and puts Asmodeus in play while resolving Mind Apotheosis' effect. The etb reaction of Asmodeus triggers, even though it did not exist before the event that triggered it.

6.3.e A reaction does not need to exist after the event that triggers it.

Example. Bob plays Mana Reaping on Alice's Armored Jammer. As Mana Reaping resolves, Armored Jammer's reaction "When I leave your Landmark zone - Sabotage" triggers, even though it does not exist anymore after the event.

6.3.f A given Reaction cannot be activated more than 100 times in a single day. If a Reaction would be activated a 101st time, the event that would activate it stays unmodified.

6.4 Costs

6.4.a Costs always have a single step, even if their description involves multiple verbs.

6.4.b A player may always decline to pay a cost.

6.4.c If a player chooses to pay a cost, they must be able to pay it in full.

6.4.d If a player declines to pay the cost of a card, they may not play that card. The game goes back to the point where the player was offered the possibility of playing that card.

6.4.e If a player declines to pay the cost of a quick action, they may not play that quick action. The game goes back to the point where the player was offered the possibility of playing that quick action.

6.4.f If a player declines to pay the cost of an internal action, that internal action is ignored and the effect that contains it continues to resolve.

6.4.g If a player declines to pay the cost of an Emblem-Reaction, that Emblem ceases to exist. Reactions are checked again.

Remark. Reactions do not have base costs, but they may have extra costs, for example if they target an opposing Character with Tough.

7.2 Pronouns

7.2.1 I
7.2.1.a When an ability uses the first person, it refers to the object that is bearing it.

7.2.1.b When an emblem or a reaction uses the first person, it refers to the object which created that emblem or reaction.

Example. Ratatoskr has the ability "reserve I gain 2 boosts". When that reaction resolves, the object only the Ratatoskr bearing that ability gains 2 boosts.

7.2.2 You

7.2.2.a When an ability uses the second person, it refers to its controller.

Example. Charge! has the effect "etb Characters you control gain 1 boost". When Charge! resolves, the Characters controlled by Charge!'s controller gain 1 boost.

7.2.3 They

7.2.3.a Altered uses the singular "they" for players.

7.2.4 It

7.2.4.a Altered uses the neutral third person for objects and cards.

7.3.1 Activates

7.3.1.a An "event activates [a reaction]" means that that event has been modified by that reaction (by creating an Emblem-Reaction) with that Reaction's effect.

7.3.1.b Some steps say "Activate [a reaction]". When that step occurs, it is modified by that reaction.

7.3.1.c Some earlier printings have effects that say "Activate [a trigger]" instead of a

7.3.1.d If an ability of an object activates a trigger of another object, the reaction that triggers is created by the second object, not the first.

Example. Brassbug Hub has the reaction "etb I gain three Kelon counters" and Dr. Frankenstein has the reaction "reserve You may activate the etb triggers of target Permanent you control". If Brassbug Hub is chosen as the target Dr. Frankenstein's reaction, Brassbug Hub gains three Kelon counters, not Dr. Frankenstein.

7.3.1.e Some abilitys say that [a trigger] "cannot activate". Reactions containing this trigger cannot trigger, whether naturally or through another effect that would activate them.

Example. The Council has the ability "The etb, hand, and reserve triggers of Characters facing me don't activate and Hua Mulan has the ability "reserve I lose Fleeting fugace". If Hua Mulan is played from Reserve in the expedition facing The Council, it does not loose Fleeting fugace.

×

Content Sources