Français English Italiano

Altered Glossary

Loaded JSON file : dictionary_2024-09-14_15-00-36.json
Number of entries : 32
View content sources

1.2.4 Abilities

1.2.4.a Each line in the textbox of an object is a separate ability.

1.2.4.b Some abilitys are represented by keywords. Several keywords, representing different abilitys, may appear the same line.

1.2.4.c There are four types of abilitys:


1.2.4.d Abilitys only work when the object is in play (i.e. in the Expedition zone, the Hero zone, or the Landmark zone) unless it specifies that it works in another zone. Furthermore:

1.4 Golden rules

1.4.1 Can't beats can
1.4.1.a If a rule or a passive ability says that it is impossible to do something, and a cost or an effect tries to do that thing, then the thing cannot be done.
1.4.1.b An impossible cost cannot be paid.
1.4.1.c An impossible effect cannot be performed. If other parts of the effect can happen, the rest of the effect resolves normally.
1.4.1.d If it impossible to modify an impossible event, even if the modified event would itself be possible.

1.4.2 Specific beats general
1.4.2.a If a card allows a player to do something that they cannot normally do, or to do it in a different way, the card takes priority.

1.4.3 My cards, my zones
1.4.3.a If a card ownered by a player would move to a zone belonging to another player, it goes to its owner's corresponding zone instead.

1.4.4 New zone, new object
1.4.4.a Objects do not change Zones, the items that represent them does. Most effects that relate to an object in a zone will not be able to follow it to another zone, a common exception being the event which moves an object.

1.4.5 Initiative order
1.4.5.a If both players need to take decisions simultaneously, the player with initiative (the player who is currently taking their turn, or the first player during non-Afternoon phases) must decide first. If that choice involves an object from a visible zone, their opponent knows which object they have chosen. If the choice involves a card from a hidden zone, they must make their choice explicit, but they do not need to reveal the chosen card.

++Example. Ninette plays a game against Lithium. During her turn, Ninette plays Kitsune from her Hand. Kitsune has the reaction "hand Each player may Resupply". She must let Lithium know whether or not she chooses to Resupply before he takes his decision. However, if she chooses to Resupply, Lithium will not see Ninette's top card until after he decides whether to Resupply or not.
In his turn, Lithium plays Anubis , which has the reaction "etb Each player sacrifices a Character". Lithium must choose which Character to sacrifice before Ninette, and Ninette knows which Character he chose to sacrifice when she makes her choice. Both Characters are sacrificed simultaneously.++

1.4.6 Nothing is forever
1.4.6.a The interaction of some cards may lead to seemingly endless loops. In order to resolve these situations, there are limits to the number of times things can happen in a single day.
1.4.6.b A given quick action may only be played a hundred times per day.
1.4.6.c A given reaction may only activate a hundred times per day.

2.1 Objects

2.1.a Objects exist in every visible zone. Each object belongs to a single zone at any given time.

2.1.b Objects can be represented in different ways: Altered cards, tokens, Adventure cards, halves of Tumult cards, and emblems.

2.1.c Objects never change zones. When a cost or an effect "moves" an object, it moves the item representing that object, which becomes a new object with a new timestamp if it ends up in a visible zone. Effects relating to the old object do not apply to the new one (see Rule 2.1.e).

Example. Lithium has Haven, Bravos Bastion and plays Kuwat, the Dissenter from Reserve. This triggers the two reactions of Kuwat, its native "etb Sacrifice a Character" and the one granted by Haven "reserve I gain 1 boost". If Lithium decide to play the etb reaction first and to sacrifice Kuwat, then the reserve reaction will not boost Kuwat in the Discard pile as it is not the same object as Kuwat in the Expedition zone which triggered the reserve reaction.

2.1.d If a token would leave the Expedition zone, it ceases to exist immediately after joining its new zone. This is an additive event-modifying rule.

2.1.e If an ability refers to a card or an object moving from any zone to a visible zone (as part of a cost, a trigger, or an effect), that ability can find the new object in its destination zone. This is an exception to Rule 2.1.c .

++Example. Moonlight Jellyfish has the reaction "When I'm sacrificed, if I'm not Fleeting — Put me in Reserve".


2.1.f Rule 2.1.e can apply through more than one zone change, as long as they all come from the ability itself.

Example. Coppélia has the reaction "When I go to Reserve from your Handl You may play me for free and I gain Asleep" endormi. Coppélia in Reserve, Coppélia in Limbo, and Coppélia in the Expedition zone are three different objects, but the effect of Coppélia's reaction in Reserve can act on the two other Coppélias as it is that effect that moved the card from Reserve to Limbo and to the Expedition zone.

2.1.g Cards in hidden zones are not objects.

2.1.h Zones are not objects: they are sets of objects or cards.

2.1.i Counters are not objects: they are markers placed on objects.

2.2.2 Subtypes

2.2.2.a Characters, Spells, Permanents, Regions, and Emblems may have sub-types.

2.2.2.b Heroes have no sub-types.

2.2.2.c An object may have any number of sub-types.

2.2.2.d The list of character sub-types is: Adventurer, Animal, Apprentice, Artist, Bureaucrat, Citizen, Companion, Deity, Dragon, Druid, Elemental, Engineer, Fairy, Leviathan, Mage, Messenger, Noble, Plant, Robot, Soldier, Scholar, Spirit, Titan, Trainer.

2.2.2.e The list of permanent sub-types is: Landmark.

2.2.2.f The list of region sub-types is: Forest (forest), Mountain (mountain), Water (water).

2.2.2.g The list of spell sub-types is: Boon, Conjuration, Disruption, Maneuver, Song.

2.2.2.h The list of emblem sub-types is: Reaction, Ongoing.

2.2.2.i The sub-types of a card are written on the type line, just below the name of the card. They are to the right of the dash; if there is more than one sub-type, they are separated by commas.

2.2.2.j The sub-types of a token are defined by the effect that creates it. They are written after the statistics of the token, separated by commas.

Example. Foundry Armorer has the reaction "reserve Create a Brassbug 2/2/2 Robot token in target Expedition". The sub-type of the token created when this reaction resolves is "Robot".

2.2.2.k The sub-types of the hero region, companion region, and the arena are Forest (forest), Mountain (mountain), and Water (water).

Remark. Regions represented by face-down Tumult cards have no sub-types.

2.2.2.l The sub-types of regions represented face-up Tumult cards are described by symbols on the side of the regions.

2.2.2.m The sub-type of an emblem created as a reaction triggers is Reaction. The sub-type of an emblem created by an effect that lasts longer than its own resolution is Ongoing.

Example. Aloe Vera has the reaction "At Noonl Resupply". As the Noon phase begins, Aloe Vera's controller creates an Emblem-Reaction in Limbo with the text "Resupply". When that Reaction is played, its effect resolves, then it ceases to exist.

Example. Celebration Day has the effect "Expeditions can´t move forward this Day". When that effect resolves, an Emblem-Ongoing is created in Limbo with the passive ability "Expeditions can't move forward" and the duration "this Day".

2.2.2.n When a cost or an effect refers to "a sub-type", it refers to an object in play with the appropriate sub-type.

Example. Three Little Pigs has the reaction "etb If you control two or more Landmarks, I gain 1 boost". When that Reaction resolves, it only counts the Landmarks in the Landmark zone, not those in Reserve or in the Discard pile.

2.2.2.o When a cost or an effect checks whether a specific card or object is "a [sub-type]", it checks whether that card or that object has the appropriate sub-type, regardless of its location.

2.2.2.p Some effects have objects gain or lose types. These effects actually mean gaining or losing sub-types.

Example. The Kraken has the ability "All regions are water and lose their other types". When the Kraken is in play, regions keep the type Region and lose the forest and mountain sub-types.

2.2.10 Abilities

2.2.10.a Abilitys are either quick actions, reactions, passive abilitys, or effects.

2.2.10.b The abilitys of an object represented by a card are written in the ability box, below the illustration.

2.2.10.c Text in italics in the ability box has no existence rules-wise.

2.2.10.d Some abilitys are written in a box inside the ability box with a coloured background and white or yellow text. Such abilitys are support abilitys.

++Example. The textbox of Haven Trainee has the following text:
reserve I gain two boosts.
"All right, lad, show me what you've learned."
support: The next Character you play this turn gains 1 boost. (Discard me from Reserve to do this.)
Haven Trainee (rare) has a two abilitys: "reserve I gain two boosts." and "support: The next Character you play this turn gains 1 boost.". The first one is an in play ability and the second one is a support ability. "All right, lad, show me what you've learned." is flavour text and "(Discard me from Reserve to do this.)" is reminder text.++

2.2.10.e The abilitys of a Character represented by a token are defined by the effect that creates it. They are written between quotation marks and preceded by "with", after the location in which the token is created.

Example. Lindiwe & Maw has the quick action "exhaust: Create a Maw 0/0/0 Companion token in your companion Expedition with "When you sacrifice a Character l I gain two boosts". This action costs 1 more if you are not the first player". The token created by this quick action has the reaction "When you sacrifice a Character l I gain two boosts".

2.2.10.f Unless otherwise specified, the abilitys of an object only work while this object is in play.

2.2.10.g Support abilitys only work while the object is in the Reserve.

2.2.10.h Quick actions are written "Cost: Effect".

Remark. Some quick actions use symbols as part of their costs: exhaust means "Exhaust me" and support means "Discard me from Reserve". See 7.1.4 "Cost symbols".

2.2.10.i Reactions are written "Triggerl Effect".

Remark. Some reactions use symbols as triggers: etb means "When I enter play from anywhere l"; hand means "When I am played from Handl"; reserve means "When I am played from Reservel". See 7.1.1 "Trigger symbols"

2.2.10.j Passive abilitys are written as statements. They may create or alter rules, change the characteristics of objects, or modify the way costs and effects affect the game.

2.2.10.k Effects are written as instructions to change to the game state.

2.2.11 Reserve limit

2.2.11.a The reserve limit is a number.

2.2.11.b Only Heroes have a reserve limit.

2.2.11.c The reserve limit of a Hero is represented by a number of rectangles on a line below the illustration and above the ability box, to the left of that Hero's faction symbol.

Remark. If a player does not have a Hero, the default reserve limit is 2 (see Rule 4.2.5.d )

2.2.12 Landmark limit

2.2.12.a The landmark limit is a number.

2.2.12.b Only Heroes have a landmark limit.

2.2.12.c The landmark limit of a Hero is represented by a number of rectangles on a line below the illustration and above the ability box, to the right of that Hero's faction symbol.

Remark. If a player does not have a Hero, the default landmark limit is 2 (see Rule 4.2.5.d )

2.2.13 Duration

2.2.13.a A duration is either "this Turn", "this Afternoon", or "this Day".

2.2.13.b Only Ongoing Emblems have a duration.

2.2.13.c The duration of an Ongoing Emblem is defined by the event that created it.

Example. Twinkle Twinkle has the support ability "support: The next card you play this turn costs 1 less". When its effect resolves, its controller creates an Ongoing Emblem in Limbo with the passive ability "The next card you play costs 1 less" and the duration "this turn". When the current turn ends, this Ongoing Emblem ceases to exist, whether its controller has played a card or not.

2.3.1 Passive abilities

2.3.1.a A card object represented by a card has the base characteristics written on the card. Some cards may have received errata since their publication.

2.3.1.b An object represented by a token has the base characteristics described by the event that created the token.

2.3.1.c An object may be missing one or more characteristics.

2.3.1.d If an object does not have a characteristic, this characteristic cannot be modified.

2.3.1.e If an object does not have a characteristic, this characteristic can be gained.

2.3.1.f If an event looks for the value of an absent characteristic, it uses zero for numeric characteristics and the empty set for other characteristics.

2.3.1.g Some passive abilitys modify the characteristics of objects.

2.3.1.h These abilitys only affect objects in play.

2.3.1.i Passive abilitys apply continuously.

2.3.1.j An object's characteristics are its base characteristics, modified by all applicable passive abilitys.

2.3.1.k What a passive ability does and what it applies to is re-evaluated after each event.

2.3.1.l Passive abilitys are applied one at a time.

2.3.1.m In order to determine the order in which passive abilitys are applied, Altered uses timestamps and dependency.

2.3.2 Dependency

2.3.2.a Dependency is a relation between two passive abilitys.

2.3.2.b Dependency is defined through the notion of direct dependency.

2.3.2.c A passive ability [A] directly depends on another passive ability [B] if either:

2.3.2.d Applying [B] would remove the existence of [A].

Example. Character [B] has "all other characters loses their abilities". Character [A] has "All regions are Forests". Applying B removes [A]'s ability. Therefore, [A] directly depends on [B].

2.3.2.e Applying [B] changes what [A] applies to.

Example. Character A has "All Elementals have Gigantic". Character B has "All Characters are Elementals". Character C is not a Elemental. Applying [B] makes [A] apply to [C]. Therefore [A] directly depends on [B]

2.3.2.f Applying [B] changes what [A] does.

Example. Character [A] has "If I am in Forest, I am Gigantic" Character [B] has "All regions are Forests". Therefore, [A] directly depends on [B]

2.3.2.g Dependency is the transitive closure of direct dependency:

2.3.3 Order of application

2.3.3.a An ability [A] is free from dependency if either:


2.3.3.b The next ability that is applied is the one with the smallest timestamp that is free from dependency.

2.3.3.c Once an altering ability has been applied, dependencies are re-evaluated to determine the next ability to apply.

2.4.6 Fleeting

2.4.6.a When a Character is played from Reserve, it gains Fleeting fugace as it enters Limbo.

2.4.6.b When a Fleeting fugace Character in Limbo resolves, it gains Fleeting fugace as it enters the Expedition zone.

2.4.6.c If a Fleeting fugace Character would go to the Reserve from the Expedition zone, it goes to the Discard pile instead.

2.4.6.d When a Spell is played from Reserve, it gains Fleeting fugace as it enters Limbo.

2.4.6.e Some spells have Fleeting fugace as an ability. When such a spell is played from anywhere, it gains the status Fleeting fugace as it enters Limbo.

2.4.6.f When a Fleeting fugace Spell in Limbo is done resolving, it goes to the Discard pile instead of the Reserve.

3.1.3 Visible or hidden

3.1.3.a Some zones are visible: they contain objects.

Remark. Adventure, Discard pile, Expedition zone, Hero zone, Landmark zone, Limbo, Reserve are visible zones.

3.1.3.b All players know the number and characteristics of objects in all visible zones.

3.1.3.c Some objects in visible zones are represented by face-down cards. These objects have no base characteristics.

3.1.3.d Some zones are hidden: they contain cards.

Remark. Deck, Hand, and Mana zone are hidden zones.

3.1.3.e All players know the number of cards in all hidden zones.

3.1.3.f Players cannot look at cards in hidden zones unless a rule, effect, or passive ability allows them to do so.

Remark. Costs and effects that use the characteristics of a card in a hidden zone reveal that card beforehand.

4.2.5 Night

4.2.5.a There are two daily effects during night.

4.2.5.b Rest Characters in the Expedition zone are sent to Reserve.

Remark. A number of statuses (Asleep endormi, Anchored ancre, Fleeting fugace) and abilitys (Eternal) modify the Rest effect.

4.2.5.c Clean-up Each player chooses as many objects in their Reserve as their Hero's reserve limit and as many objects in their Landmark zone as their Hero's landmark limit. All non-selected objects are discarded simultaneously.

Remark. The first player must make their choice known before the second player chooses which objects to discard, and so on, in initiative order (see Rule 6.1.g ).

4.2.5.d If a player has no Hero, their reserve limit and landmark limit are equal to 2.

Remark. A player may have excess objects in their Reserve and or Landmark zone at the end of the day, if the clean-up effect has been modified, the limits have changed, or a reaction triggered off clean-up and put some objects in one of these zones.

5.2.3 Playing a Spell card

5.2.3.a Depending on its effect, playing a Spell card may require choices during the declaration of intent.

5.2.3.b Some effects have targets. During the declaration of intent, a suitable object, zone, or player must be chosen for each target in the effect. Each object, zone, or player may only be chosen once for each occurrence of the word "target" in the effect. If there are several occurrences of the word "target" in the effect, the same object, zone, or player may be chosen for more than one occurrence.

5.2.3.c Some Spells are modal: their effect contain the words "Choose one" followed by several lines starting with •. This choice is made during the declaration of intent.

5.2.3.d When choosing targets for a modal Spell, consider only the chosen mode.

5.2.3.e Some Spells have optional steps: they contain a sentence of the form "You may do [step]". The choice is made during resolution. If the step has a target, that target must be chosen during the declaration of the Spell, even if player does not intend to do that optional step.

5.2.3.f Some Spells have conditional steps: they contain a sentence of the form "If [condition] do [step]" or "Do [step] unless [condition]". The condition is evaluated during resolution. In particular, if the step has a target, that target must be chosen during the declaration of the Spell, even if the condition is not currently met.

5.2.3.g Some Spells have internal actions: they contain a sentence of the form "You may pay [cost] to do [effect]". The internal action is played during the resolution of the Spell. If the internal action's effect has a target, that target is not chosen until the Spell resolves. Note that internal actions are always optional.

5.2.3.h When a Spell card is moved to Limbo, if it was played from Reserve, it gains Fleeting fugace.

5.2.3.i Some Spells have Fleeting fugace as a passive ability in their text box. When such a Spell is played from anywhere, it gains the status Fleeting fugace.

5.2.3.j When a non-Fleeting fugace Spell's resolution is done, that Spell moves to Reserve. When a Fleeting fugace Spell's resolution is done, that Spell moves to the Discard pile.

5.5 Playing Reactions

5.5.a Playing a Reaction follows the same process as playing a Spell, with the following differences:

5.5.b Reactions do not change zones during the declaration of intent.

5.5.c Reaction usually do not have costs, but they may get extra cost due to some passive abilitys such as Tough.

5.5.d If a Reaction has a cost, its controller may chose to play it wihout paying its cost. In this case, the Reaction has no effect.

5.5.e When a Reaction's resolution is done, that Reaction ceases to exist.

6.2 Modifiers

6.2.a Some rules and passive abilitys are modifiers, which change the way a step affects the game state.

6.2.b Some modifiers change what a step or an atomic action does. These modifiers are called replacing modifiers and use the word "instead".

6.2.c Some modifiers add atomic actions to a step. This modifiers are called additive modifiers and use the word "also".

6.2.d Modifiers may apply to steps, or atomic actions:

6.2.e When a step is about to happen, check whether a modifier would apply to that step or an atomic action in that step. If one does, the controller of that step chooses one of them and applies it:
1. Replacing modifiers that apply to the whole step must be applied first;
2. Replacing modifiers that apply to an atomic action must be applied next;
3. Additive modifiers are applied last.

6.2.f If there are multiple applicable modifiers, the controller of the step, or the first player in initiative order if that step has no controller, chooses which one is applied first.

6.2.g Once a modifier has been applied, check whether another modifier applies to the modified step.

6.2.h Once a modifier has been applied to a whole step, it cannot apply again to that step.

6.2.i Once a modifier applies to a atomic action, it cannot apply again to that atomic action.

6.2.j Modifiers have to exist before the step they try to modify, unless they are a passive ability of an object which modifies specifically how that object enters a zone.

6.2.k Once no more modifiers apply to a step, it happens and becomes an event.

6.3 Reactions

6.3.a Some abilitys are Reactions. They are written "Triggerl Effect".

6.3.b Reactions are additive modifiers which apply to events matching their trigger and add the atomic action "Create an Emblem-Reaction in Limbo with the effect of that reaction".

6.3.c A Reaction that modified an event has been "activated" by that event.

6.3.d A reaction has to exist before the event that triggers it, except if it is a reaction of an object that triggers specifically on that object entering a visible zone.

Example. Régis plays Mind Apotheosis and puts Asmodeus in play while resolving Mind Apotheosis' effect. The etb reaction of Asmodeus triggers, even though it did not exist before the event that triggered it.

6.3.e A reaction does not need to exist after the event that triggers it.

Example. Bob plays Mana Reaping on Alice's Armored Jammer. As Mana Reaping resolves, Armored Jammer's reaction "When I leave your Landmark zone - Sabotage" triggers, even though it does not exist anymore after the event.

6.3.f A given Reaction cannot be activated more than 100 times in a single day. If a Reaction would be activated a 101st time, the event that would activate it stays unmodified.

7.2 Pronouns

7.2.1 I
7.2.1.a When an ability uses the first person, it refers to the object that is bearing it.

7.2.1.b When an emblem or a reaction uses the first person, it refers to the object which created that emblem or reaction.

Example. Ratatoskr has the ability "reserve I gain 2 boosts". When that reaction resolves, the object only the Ratatoskr bearing that ability gains 2 boosts.

7.2.2 You

7.2.2.a When an ability uses the second person, it refers to its controller.

Example. Charge! has the effect "etb Characters you control gain 1 boost". When Charge! resolves, the Characters controlled by Charge!'s controller gain 1 boost.

7.2.3 They

7.2.3.a Altered uses the singular "they" for players.

7.2.4 It

7.2.4.a Altered uses the neutral third person for objects and cards.

7.3.1 Activates

7.3.1.a An "event activates [a reaction]" means that that event has been modified by that reaction (by creating an Emblem-Reaction) with that Reaction's effect.

7.3.1.b Some steps say "Activate [a reaction]". When that step occurs, it is modified by that reaction.

7.3.1.c Some earlier printings have effects that say "Activate [a trigger]" instead of a

7.3.1.d If an ability of an object activates a trigger of another object, the reaction that triggers is created by the second object, not the first.

Example. Brassbug Hub has the reaction "etb I gain three Kelon counters" and Dr. Frankenstein has the reaction "reserve You may activate the etb triggers of target Permanent you control". If Brassbug Hub is chosen as the target Dr. Frankenstein's reaction, Brassbug Hub gains three Kelon counters, not Dr. Frankenstein.

7.3.1.e Some abilitys say that [a trigger] "cannot activate". Reactions containing this trigger cannot trigger, whether naturally or through another effect that would activate them.

Example. The Council has the ability "The etb, hand, and reserve triggers of Characters facing me don't activate and Hua Mulan has the ability "reserve I lose Fleeting fugace". If Hua Mulan is played from Reserve in the expedition facing The Council, it does not loose Fleeting fugace.

7.3.2 After you

7.3.2.a "After you" means "End the turn once there are no Reactions in Limbo".

7.3.2.b "After you" is not passing.

Example. [ Alice] have the support ability "support: After You". If a player plays this action, the next player in initiative order gets the initiative as soon as there are no reactions in Limbo. Alice's owner has not passed, and they will be able to play actions and cards in this afternoon.

7.3.3 Create

7.3.3.a To create a token is to put a new character token in the Expedition zone.

7.3.3.b Costs and effects that create tokens use the following template: "create a [name] [x/y/z] [sub-types] token with [abilitys] in [expedition]".

Example. Open the Gates (common) has the effect "Create two Ordis Recruit 1/1/1 Soldier token in each of your Expeditions". When Open the Games resolves, four tokens are created. They all have the name "Ordis Recruit", the type "Character", the sub-type "Soldier", all three statistics equal to 1, and no abilitys.

7.3.13 Roll a die

7.3.13.a To "roll a die" is to roll a fair six-sided die and to note the result.

7.3.13.b Effects that have "roll a die" as one of their steps have a subsequent step that uses the result of that roll.

7.3.13.c Some passive abilitys allow a player to roll multiple dice and choose one of them or give them the option to modify a roll. A player who benefits from one of these abilitys may look at the result of the rolled dice before deciding which die and which modifiers to use.

7.4.1 Defender

7.4.1.a Defender is a passive ability that appears on Characters.

7.4.1.b An expedition containing a character with Defender cannot move forward during Dusk.

7.4.1.c An expedition containing a Character with Defender always "fails to move forward".

7.4.1.d Defender applies to any reason why an expedition might advance during Dusk, not just the Progress daily effect.

7.4.2 Eternal

7.4.2.a Eternal is a passive ability that appears on Characters.

7.4.2.b An Eternal character is not sent to the Reserve during rest.

7.4.3 Gigantic

7.4.3.a Gigantic is a passive ability that appears on Characters.

7.4.3.b A Gigantic object is present in both expeditions of its controller.

7.4.3.c When a player plays a card with Gigantic or creates a token with Gigantic, they play it or create it in a specific Expedition. They do not put two cards or two tokens in play.

7.4.3.d When a Gigantic object enters the Expedition zone, its etb, hand, and reserve trigger only once.

7.4.3.e A gigantic character's statistics are counted in each of its controller's expeditions.

7.4.3.f If an effect refers to a gigantic character's expedition, it refers to each of its controller's expeditions.

7.4.3.g If an effect refers to the other expedition of a gigantic character's controller, it refers to no expeditions.

7.4.3.h If an effect refers to the expedition facing a gigantic character, it refers to the expeditions facing each of its controller's expeditions.

7.4.3.i During tiebreakers, a gigantic character's statistics are counted twice for their controllers total statistics.

7.4.3.j If a Gigantic Character would switch Expeditions, the card or token representing it switches Expeditions. The Character itself does not leave nor join either Expedition.

7.4.3.k If a Gigantic Character would lose Gigantic, it remains in the Expedition containing the card or token that represents it and leaves the other Expedition of its controller.

7.4.4 Seasoned

7.4.4.a Seasoned is a passive ability that appears on Characters.

7.4.4.b If an object with Seasoned would move from the Expedition zone to the Reserve, it keeps its boosts as it moves.

Remark. In order to keep its boosts, the former object in the Expedition zone needs to have Seasoned; the new object in Reserve does not need to have it.

7.4.4.c Seasoned applies to any move from the Expedition zone to the Reserve, including but not limited to the Rest daily effect at Dusk.

7.4.5 Tough

7.4.5.a Tough is a passive ability that appears on Characters and Permanents.

7.4.5.b Tough is always followed by a number.

7.4.5.c Spells, quick actions, reactions, and internal actions targeting an opposing object with Tough x cost X more.

Remark. If a Spell is played "for free", the extra cost from Tough X is also waived.

7.5.1 Abilities

7.5.1.a A "etb ability" (resp. "hand ability", "reserve ability") is a reaction whose trigger includes the symbol etb (resp. hand, reserve).

7.5.1.b Earlier printings refer to "etb, hand, reserve triggers" instead of etb, hand, reserve abilitys.

Aggro

An "Aggro" deck is a type of archetype that aims to inflict maximum damage to the opponent as quickly as possible, often by playing many small creatures or direct damage spells from the early turns. Aggro decks often sacrifice durability and long-term control to maximize immediate pressure on the opponent, hoping to defeat them before they can establish an effective defense or strategy.

Instants / Atomic Actions

"Atomic Instants" in Altered are precise moments at the beginning of certain game phases where specific abilities are triggered simultaneously. These instants occur at the very beginning of the "At Noon", "At Dusk", or "At Night" phases. During an Atomic Instant, only cards that are already in play at that moment can have their corresponding abilities triggered. This means that a card played after the start of the Atomic Instant will not be able to trigger an ability related to that instant, even if it would normally enter play during this phase. Atomic Instants are crucial for determining what content is added to the pool of effects to be resolved, thus ensuring an orderly and precise resolution of abilities.

Target

Targeting is the action of selecting a specific card on the board to be affected by an ability or spell. Abilities that target cards must respect certain conditions, such as being controlled by the player or being in a specific zone. Cards in the Reserve are not considered controlled and can only be targeted by abilities that explicitly mention the Reserve.

×

Content Sources