Français English Italiano

Altered Glossary

Loaded JSON file : dictionary_2024-09-14_15-00-36.json
Number of entries : 9
View content sources

2.4.6 Fleeting

2.4.6.a When a Character is played from Reserve, it gains Fleeting fugace as it enters Limbo.

2.4.6.b When a Fleeting fugace Character in Limbo resolves, it gains Fleeting fugace as it enters the Expedition zone.

2.4.6.c If a Fleeting fugace Character would go to the Reserve from the Expedition zone, it goes to the Discard pile instead.

2.4.6.d When a Spell is played from Reserve, it gains Fleeting fugace as it enters Limbo.

2.4.6.e Some spells have Fleeting fugace as an ability. When such a spell is played from anywhere, it gains the status Fleeting fugace as it enters Limbo.

2.4.6.f When a Fleeting fugace Spell in Limbo is done resolving, it goes to the Discard pile instead of the Reserve.

1.3.2 Day progress

1.3.2.a Each day is divided in five phases.

1.3.2.b In the Morning phase, the opponent of the first player becomes the first player (Succeed), players ready their Characters, Permanents, and Mana Orbs (Prepare), draw two cards (Draw) and may put one card from their Hand in their Mana zone.

1.3.2.c In the Noon phase, nothing happens unless one or more reactions trigger "At Noon".

1.3.2.d In the Afternoon phase, starting with the first player, players alternate taking turns until both have passed; during their turn, a player may play any number of quick actions and then either play a card or pass; once a player has passed, they cannot take more turns this day.

1.3.2.e In the Dusk phase, players sum up the statistics of all the characters in each of their expeditions. An expedition moves forward if one of its statistics is:


1.3.2.f During the Night Phase

2.1 Objects

2.1.a Objects exist in every visible zone. Each object belongs to a single zone at any given time.

2.1.b Objects can be represented in different ways: Altered cards, tokens, Adventure cards, halves of Tumult cards, and emblems.

2.1.c Objects never change zones. When a cost or an effect "moves" an object, it moves the item representing that object, which becomes a new object with a new timestamp if it ends up in a visible zone. Effects relating to the old object do not apply to the new one (see Rule 2.1.e).

Example. Lithium has Haven, Bravos Bastion and plays Kuwat, the Dissenter from Reserve. This triggers the two reactions of Kuwat, its native "etb Sacrifice a Character" and the one granted by Haven "reserve I gain 1 boost". If Lithium decide to play the etb reaction first and to sacrifice Kuwat, then the reserve reaction will not boost Kuwat in the Discard pile as it is not the same object as Kuwat in the Expedition zone which triggered the reserve reaction.

2.1.d If a token would leave the Expedition zone, it ceases to exist immediately after joining its new zone. This is an additive event-modifying rule.

2.1.e If an ability refers to a card or an object moving from any zone to a visible zone (as part of a cost, a trigger, or an effect), that ability can find the new object in its destination zone. This is an exception to Rule 2.1.c .

++Example. Moonlight Jellyfish has the reaction "When I'm sacrificed, if I'm not Fleeting — Put me in Reserve".


2.1.f Rule 2.1.e can apply through more than one zone change, as long as they all come from the ability itself.

Example. Coppélia has the reaction "When I go to Reserve from your Handl You may play me for free and I gain Asleep" endormi. Coppélia in Reserve, Coppélia in Limbo, and Coppélia in the Expedition zone are three different objects, but the effect of Coppélia's reaction in Reserve can act on the two other Coppélias as it is that effect that moved the card from Reserve to Limbo and to the Expedition zone.

2.1.g Cards in hidden zones are not objects.

2.1.h Zones are not objects: they are sets of objects or cards.

2.1.i Counters are not objects: they are markers placed on objects.

4.2.5 Night

4.2.5.a There are two daily effects during night.

4.2.5.b Rest Characters in the Expedition zone are sent to Reserve.

Remark. A number of statuses (Asleep endormi, Anchored ancre, Fleeting fugace) and abilitys (Eternal) modify the Rest effect.

4.2.5.c Clean-up Each player chooses as many objects in their Reserve as their Hero's reserve limit and as many objects in their Landmark zone as their Hero's landmark limit. All non-selected objects are discarded simultaneously.

Remark. The first player must make their choice known before the second player chooses which objects to discard, and so on, in initiative order (see Rule 6.1.g ).

4.2.5.d If a player has no Hero, their reserve limit and landmark limit are equal to 2.

Remark. A player may have excess objects in their Reserve and or Landmark zone at the end of the day, if the clean-up effect has been modified, the limits have changed, or a reaction triggered off clean-up and put some objects in one of these zones.

5.2.1 Playing a Character

5.2.1.a During the declaration of intent, the player must choose in which of their Expedition they play their Character card.

5.2.1.b When a Character card is moved to Limbo, if it was played from Reserve, it gains Fleeting fugace.

5.2.1.c During the resolution of a Character card, the Character enters the chosen Expedition. If it had Fleeting fugace in Limbo, it gains Fleeting fugace.

5.2.2 Playing a Permanent

5.2.2.a During the resolution of a Permanent card, that Permanent enters its controller's Landmark zone.

Remark. Permanents cannot have the status Fleeting fugace, even if they were played from Reserve.

5.2.3 Playing a Spell card

5.2.3.a Depending on its effect, playing a Spell card may require choices during the declaration of intent.

5.2.3.b Some effects have targets. During the declaration of intent, a suitable object, zone, or player must be chosen for each target in the effect. Each object, zone, or player may only be chosen once for each occurrence of the word "target" in the effect. If there are several occurrences of the word "target" in the effect, the same object, zone, or player may be chosen for more than one occurrence.

5.2.3.c Some Spells are modal: their effect contain the words "Choose one" followed by several lines starting with •. This choice is made during the declaration of intent.

5.2.3.d When choosing targets for a modal Spell, consider only the chosen mode.

5.2.3.e Some Spells have optional steps: they contain a sentence of the form "You may do [step]". The choice is made during resolution. If the step has a target, that target must be chosen during the declaration of the Spell, even if player does not intend to do that optional step.

5.2.3.f Some Spells have conditional steps: they contain a sentence of the form "If [condition] do [step]" or "Do [step] unless [condition]". The condition is evaluated during resolution. In particular, if the step has a target, that target must be chosen during the declaration of the Spell, even if the condition is not currently met.

5.2.3.g Some Spells have internal actions: they contain a sentence of the form "You may pay [cost] to do [effect]". The internal action is played during the resolution of the Spell. If the internal action's effect has a target, that target is not chosen until the Spell resolves. Note that internal actions are always optional.

5.2.3.h When a Spell card is moved to Limbo, if it was played from Reserve, it gains Fleeting fugace.

5.2.3.i Some Spells have Fleeting fugace as a passive ability in their text box. When such a Spell is played from anywhere, it gains the status Fleeting fugace.

5.2.3.j When a non-Fleeting fugace Spell's resolution is done, that Spell moves to Reserve. When a Fleeting fugace Spell's resolution is done, that Spell moves to the Discard pile.

7.3.1 Activates

7.3.1.a An "event activates [a reaction]" means that that event has been modified by that reaction (by creating an Emblem-Reaction) with that Reaction's effect.

7.3.1.b Some steps say "Activate [a reaction]". When that step occurs, it is modified by that reaction.

7.3.1.c Some earlier printings have effects that say "Activate [a trigger]" instead of a

7.3.1.d If an ability of an object activates a trigger of another object, the reaction that triggers is created by the second object, not the first.

Example. Brassbug Hub has the reaction "etb I gain three Kelon counters" and Dr. Frankenstein has the reaction "reserve You may activate the etb triggers of target Permanent you control". If Brassbug Hub is chosen as the target Dr. Frankenstein's reaction, Brassbug Hub gains three Kelon counters, not Dr. Frankenstein.

7.3.1.e Some abilitys say that [a trigger] "cannot activate". Reactions containing this trigger cannot trigger, whether naturally or through another effect that would activate them.

Example. The Council has the ability "The etb, hand, and reserve triggers of Characters facing me don't activate and Hua Mulan has the ability "reserve I lose Fleeting fugace". If Hua Mulan is played from Reserve in the expedition facing The Council, it does not loose Fleeting fugace.

Clarification of the phases of a day

Morning Phase


Noon Phase

Afternoon Phase

Dusk Phase

Night Phase

×

Content Sources