1.2.5.a A cost is a change in the game state that a player can do in order to do something, e.g. playing a card or a quick action.
1.2.5.b A player is never forced to pay a cost. Not paying a cost may preclude certain game actions, such as playing a card, or have some things happen or not happen.
1.2.5.c Costs must always be paid in full. If a player cannot pay part of a cost, they cannot pay the cost at all.
1.2.5.d All parts in a single cost are always paid simultaneously.
1.2.5.e A mana cost is payed by exhausting that many Mana Orbs.
2.2.6.a The Hand Cost of an object is a number.
2.2.6.b The Hand Cost of a card is written as a number in a circle on the top left of the card, just above and to the left of the Reserve cost.
2.2.6.c Tokens have a hand cost of 0.
2.2.6.d Emblems have no hand cost.
2.2.7.a The Reserve cost of an object is a number.
2.2.7.b The Reserve cost of a card is written as a number in a circle on the top left of the card, just below and to the right of the Hand cost.
2.2.7.c Tokens have a reserve cost of 0.
2.2.7.d Emblems have no reserve cost.
6.1.a Costs and effect are sequences of instructions that affect the game state. Paying a cost or resolving an effect consist in following these instructions.
6.1.b An effect may involve multiple steps.
6.1.c There is a separate step for each verb in an effect description, unless these verbs are said to happen "simultaneously"
Example. Spy Craft has the effect "Sabotage, then Resupply". The resolution of Spy Craft involves two steps. In the first step, the controller of Spy Craft performs Sabotage. In the second step, they perform Resupply.
6.1.d Costs always have a single step.
Example. Subhash & Marmo have the Reaction "At Noon l You may pay and put a card from your Hand in Reserve to create a Brassbug 2/2/2 Robot token in target Expedition". Paying
and putting a card from Hand to to Reserve happen in the same step.
6.1.e A single step may involve multiple objects. In this case, there is a separate atomic action for each affected object.
Example. Open the Gates has the effect "Create two Ordis Recruit 1/1/1 Soldier tokens in each of you Expeditions". There is only one step in the resolution of Open the Gates. It has four atomic actions, one for each token.
6.1.f Atomic actions in a single Step happen simultaneously.
6.1.g Some steps require decisions by more than one player. Such choices are made in initiative order. If that choice involves an object from a visible zone, other players know which object has been chosen. If the choice involves a card from a hidden zone, they must make their choice explicit, but they do not need to reveal the chosen card.
++Example. Ninette plays a game against Lithium. During her turn, Ninette plays Kitsune from her Hand. Kitsune has the reaction " Each player may Resupply". She must let Lithium know whether or not she chooses to Resupply before he takes his decision. However, if she chooses to Resupply, Lithium will not see Ninette's top card until after he decides whether to Resupply or not.
In his turn, Lithium plays Anubis , which has the reaction " Each player sacrifices a Character". Lithium must choose which Character to sacrifice before Ninette, and Ninette knows which Character he chose to sacrifice when she makes her choice. Both Characters are sacrificed simultaneously.++
6.4.a Costs always have a single step, even if their description involves multiple verbs.
6.4.b A player may always decline to pay a cost.
6.4.c If a player chooses to pay a cost, they must be able to pay it in full.
6.4.d If a player declines to pay the cost of a card, they may not play that card. The game goes back to the point where the player was offered the possibility of playing that card.
6.4.e If a player declines to pay the cost of a quick action, they may not play that quick action. The game goes back to the point where the player was offered the possibility of playing that quick action.
6.4.f If a player declines to pay the cost of an internal action, that internal action is ignored and the effect that contains it continues to resolve.
6.4.g If a player declines to pay the cost of an Emblem-Reaction, that Emblem ceases to exist. Reactions are checked again.
Remark. Reactions do not have base costs, but they may have extra costs, for example if they target an opposing Character with Tough.
7.1.4.a The symbol means "Exhaust me".
7.1.4.b The symbol means "Discard me from the Reserve"
7.1.4.c The symbols ,
, …,
mean "Pay 1, 2, …, X mana", respectively
1.1.6.a When the game uses a number, it is always an integer.
1.1.6.b If an event requires a division, it will precise whether to round up or down.
1.1.6.c If an event would need to divide a number by 0, that event cannot happen.
1.1.6.d If a calculation uses a missing number (e.g. the statistics of a non-Character card), it uses zero instead.
1.1.6.e The symbol means "When I join the Expedition zone".
1.1.6.f The symbol means "When I am played from Hand".
1.1.6.g The symbol means "When I am played from Reserve".
1.1.6.h The symbol means "exhaust me"
1.1.6.i The symbol means "Discard me from Reserve"
1.1.6.j A white [number] in a black or yellow circle (,
, …) in a cost means "Pay [that number] mana".
1.2.2.a Objects are the game pieces of Altered.
1.2.2.b Most things in a game of Altered are either objects, properties of objects or sets of objects.
1.2.2.c Objects have characteristics:
1.2.4.a Each line in the textbox of an object is a separate ability.
1.2.4.b Some abilitys are represented by keywords. Several keywords, representing different abilitys, may appear the same line.
1.2.4.c There are four types of abilitys:
1.2.6.a An effect is a change in the game state that happens during the resolution of a spell, a quick action, a reaction, or a daily effect.
1.2.6.b Effects may have several steps. There is usually one step for each verb in an effect, unless these verbs are said to happen simultaneously.
1.2.6.c Effects are usually mandatory. Optional steps use the word "may".
1.2.6.d Some steps are conditional. They are written "If [condition], do [step]". Conditional steps whose condition is not met are ignored.
1.2.6.e Some steps contain internal actions which can be played if the controller of the effect wishes to pay their cost. They are written "You may [pay cost] to [do effect]". Internal actions whose cost is not paid are ignored.
1.2.6.f If part of an effect cannot happen, that part is ignored, but the rest of the effect happens normally.
1.2.7.a An event is a change from one game state to the next.
1.2.7.b Paying a cost is always a single event.
1.2.7.c There is a different event for each step in the resolution of an effect.
1.2.7.d Some events involve no change in the game state, for example if they act on an empty set of objects or if they only provide information to one player.
1.4.1 Can't beats can
1.4.1.a If a rule or a passive ability says that it is impossible to do something, and a cost or an effect tries to do that thing, then the thing cannot be done.
1.4.1.b An impossible cost cannot be paid.
1.4.1.c An impossible effect cannot be performed. If other parts of the effect can happen, the rest of the effect resolves normally.
1.4.1.d If it impossible to modify an impossible event, even if the modified event would itself be possible.
1.4.2 Specific beats general
1.4.2.a If a card allows a player to do something that they cannot normally do, or to do it in a different way, the card takes priority.
1.4.3 My cards, my zones
1.4.3.a If a card ownered by a player would move to a zone belonging to another player, it goes to its owner's corresponding zone instead.
1.4.4 New zone, new object
1.4.4.a Objects do not change Zones, the items that represent them does. Most effects that relate to an object in a zone will not be able to follow it to another zone, a common exception being the event which moves an object.
1.4.5 Initiative order
1.4.5.a If both players need to take decisions simultaneously, the player with initiative (the player who is currently taking their turn, or the first player during non-Afternoon phases) must decide first. If that choice involves an object from a visible zone, their opponent knows which object they have chosen. If the choice involves a card from a hidden zone, they must make their choice explicit, but they do not need to reveal the chosen card.
++Example. Ninette plays a game against Lithium. During her turn, Ninette plays Kitsune from her Hand. Kitsune has the reaction " Each player may Resupply". She must let Lithium know whether or not she chooses to Resupply before he takes his decision. However, if she chooses to Resupply, Lithium will not see Ninette's top card until after he decides whether to Resupply or not.
In his turn, Lithium plays Anubis , which has the reaction " Each player sacrifices a Character". Lithium must choose which Character to sacrifice before Ninette, and Ninette knows which Character he chose to sacrifice when she makes her choice. Both Characters are sacrificed simultaneously.++
1.4.6 Nothing is forever
1.4.6.a The interaction of some cards may lead to seemingly endless loops. In order to resolve these situations, there are limits to the number of times things can happen in a single day.
1.4.6.b A given quick action may only be played a hundred times per day.
1.4.6.c A given reaction may only activate a hundred times per day.
2.1.a Objects exist in every visible zone. Each object belongs to a single zone at any given time.
2.1.b Objects can be represented in different ways: Altered cards, tokens, Adventure cards, halves of Tumult cards, and emblems.
2.1.c Objects never change zones. When a cost or an effect "moves" an object, it moves the item representing that object, which becomes a new object with a new timestamp if it ends up in a visible zone. Effects relating to the old object do not apply to the new one (see Rule 2.1.e).
Example. Lithium has Haven, Bravos Bastion and plays Kuwat, the Dissenter from Reserve. This triggers the two reactions of Kuwat, its native " Sacrifice a Character" and the one granted by Haven "
I gain 1 boost". If Lithium decide to play the
reaction first and to sacrifice Kuwat, then the
reaction will not boost Kuwat in the Discard pile as it is not the same object as Kuwat in the Expedition zone which triggered the
reaction.
2.1.d If a token would leave the Expedition zone, it ceases to exist immediately after joining its new zone. This is an additive event-modifying rule.
2.1.e If an ability refers to a card or an object moving from any zone to a visible zone (as part of a cost, a trigger, or an effect), that ability can find the new object in its destination zone. This is an exception to Rule 2.1.c .
++Example. Moonlight Jellyfish has the reaction "When I'm sacrificed, if I'm not Fleeting — Put me in Reserve".
2.2.1.a A type is one of the following: Character, Emblem, Hero, Permanent, Region, Spell.
2.2.1.b Each object has a single type.
2.2.1.c The type of a card is written on the type line, just below the name of the card. It is the first word of the type line, before the dash.
2.2.1.d The type of a token is Character.
Remark. The tokens printed by Equinox have the word "Token" in their type line. This is for clarity and has no rules implications.
2.2.1.e The type of an object represented by an Adventure card or half a Tumult card is Region.
2.2.1.f The type of an object represented by a face-down card in the Mana zone is Mana Orb.
2.2.1.g The type of an emblem is Emblem.
Remark. The type Emblem does not appear on cards. It is reserved for temporary objects in Limbo created by reactions or effects whose impact on the game lasts longer than their own resolution.
2.2.1.h When a cost or an effect refers to "a [type]", it refers to an object in play with the appropriate type, unless it specifies a specific zone.
Example. Banishing Gate has the effect "Discard target Character or Permanent". When that Spell is played, its controller must choose a Character or Permanent in play. They cannot choose a Character or Permanent from another zone, such as the Reserve.
2.2.1.i When a cost or an effect checks whether a specific card or object is "a [type]", it checks whether that card or that object has the appropriate type, regardless of its location.
Example. Ada Lovelace has the reaction " You may put a card from your hand in Reserve. If it's a Permanent, draw a card". If a player choses to put a Permanent card in Reserve during the resolution of this reaction, they draw a card.
2.2.2.a Characters, Spells, Permanents, Regions, and Emblems may have sub-types.
2.2.2.b Heroes have no sub-types.
2.2.2.c An object may have any number of sub-types.
2.2.2.d The list of character sub-types is: Adventurer, Animal, Apprentice, Artist, Bureaucrat, Citizen, Companion, Deity, Dragon, Druid, Elemental, Engineer, Fairy, Leviathan, Mage, Messenger, Noble, Plant, Robot, Soldier, Scholar, Spirit, Titan, Trainer.
2.2.2.e The list of permanent sub-types is: Landmark.
2.2.2.f The list of region sub-types is: Forest (), Mountain (
), Water (
).
2.2.2.g The list of spell sub-types is: Boon, Conjuration, Disruption, Maneuver, Song.
2.2.2.h The list of emblem sub-types is: Reaction, Ongoing.
2.2.2.i The sub-types of a card are written on the type line, just below the name of the card. They are to the right of the dash; if there is more than one sub-type, they are separated by commas.
2.2.2.j The sub-types of a token are defined by the effect that creates it. They are written after the statistics of the token, separated by commas.
Example. Foundry Armorer has the reaction " Create a Brassbug 2/2/2 Robot token in target Expedition". The sub-type of the token created when this reaction resolves is "Robot".
2.2.2.k The sub-types of the hero region, companion region, and the arena are Forest (), Mountain (
), and Water (
).
Remark. Regions represented by face-down Tumult cards have no sub-types.
2.2.2.l The sub-types of regions represented face-up Tumult cards are described by symbols on the side of the regions.
2.2.2.m The sub-type of an emblem created as a reaction triggers is Reaction. The sub-type of an emblem created by an effect that lasts longer than its own resolution is Ongoing.
Example. Aloe Vera has the reaction "At Noonl Resupply". As the Noon phase begins, Aloe Vera's controller creates an Emblem-Reaction in Limbo with the text "Resupply". When that Reaction is played, its effect resolves, then it ceases to exist.
Example. Celebration Day has the effect "Expeditions can´t move forward this Day". When that effect resolves, an Emblem-Ongoing is created in Limbo with the passive ability "Expeditions can't move forward" and the duration "this Day".
2.2.2.n When a cost or an effect refers to "a sub-type", it refers to an object in play with the appropriate sub-type.
Example. Three Little Pigs has the reaction " If you control two or more Landmarks, I gain 1 boost". When that Reaction resolves, it only counts the Landmarks in the Landmark zone, not those in Reserve or in the Discard pile.
2.2.2.o When a cost or an effect checks whether a specific card or object is "a [sub-type]", it checks whether that card or that object has the appropriate sub-type, regardless of its location.
2.2.2.p Some effects have objects gain or lose types. These effects actually mean gaining or losing sub-types.
Example. The Kraken has the ability "All regions are and lose their other types". When the Kraken is in play, regions keep the type Region and lose the
and
sub-types.
2.2.10.a Abilitys are either quick actions, reactions, passive abilitys, or effects.
2.2.10.b The abilitys of an object represented by a card are written in the ability box, below the illustration.
2.2.10.c Text in italics in the ability box has no existence rules-wise.
2.2.10.d Some abilitys are written in a box inside the ability box with a coloured background and white or yellow text. Such abilitys are support abilitys.
++Example. The textbox of Haven Trainee has the following text:
I gain two boosts.
"All right, lad, show me what you've learned."
: The next Character you play this turn gains 1 boost. (Discard me from Reserve to do this.)
Haven Trainee (rare) has a two abilitys: " I gain two boosts." and "
: The next Character you play this turn gains 1 boost.". The first one is an in play ability and the second one is a support ability. "All right, lad, show me what you've learned." is flavour text and "(Discard me from Reserve to do this.)" is reminder text.++
2.2.10.e The abilitys of a Character represented by a token are defined by the effect that creates it. They are written between quotation marks and preceded by "with", after the location in which the token is created.
Example. Lindiwe & Maw has the quick action ": Create a Maw 0/0/0 Companion token in your companion Expedition with "When you sacrifice a Character l I gain two boosts". This action costs 1 more if you are not the first player". The token created by this quick action has the reaction "When you sacrifice a Character l I gain two boosts".
2.2.10.f Unless otherwise specified, the abilitys of an object only work while this object is in play.
2.2.10.g Support abilitys only work while the object is in the Reserve.
2.2.10.h Quick actions are written "Cost: Effect".
Remark. Some quick actions use symbols as part of their costs: means "Exhaust me" and
means "Discard me from Reserve". See 7.1.4 "Cost symbols".
2.2.10.i Reactions are written "Triggerl Effect".
Remark. Some reactions use symbols as triggers: means "When I enter play from anywhere l";
means "When I am played from Handl";
means "When I am played from Reservel". See 7.1.1 "Trigger symbols"
2.2.10.j Passive abilitys are written as statements. They may create or alter rules, change the characteristics of objects, or modify the way costs and effects affect the game.
2.2.10.k Effects are written as instructions to change to the game state.
2.2.13.a A duration is either "this Turn", "this Afternoon", or "this Day".
2.2.13.b Only Ongoing Emblems have a duration.
2.2.13.c The duration of an Ongoing Emblem is defined by the event that created it.
Example. Twinkle Twinkle has the support ability ": The next card you play this turn costs
less". When its effect resolves, its controller creates an Ongoing Emblem in Limbo with the passive ability "The next card you play costs
less" and the duration "this turn". When the current turn ends, this Ongoing Emblem ceases to exist, whether its controller has played a card or not.
2.4.5.a Some costs and effects make an object Exhausted.
Remark. The symbol $es in the cost of an quick action means "exhaust me" (see Rule 7.1.4.a ). That cost cannot be paid if the object bearing that quick action is already Exhausted.
2.4.5.b An object that is not Exhausted is ready.
2.5.a Objects may have counters on them.
2.5.b Counters have names.
2.5.c Counters with the same name on the same object are indistinguishable.
2.5.d Some Heroes start the game with counters. Such counters are on the Hero from the moment it is revealed and placed in the Hero zone.
2.5.e Some steps have an object "gain [X] [name] counters". After the resolution of such a step, that object has [X] more [name] counters than before.
2.5.f Some steps "remove [X] [name] counters". After the resolution of such a step, if that object had [X] or less [name] counters, it has now zero [name] counters; if it had more than [X] [name] counters, that object has now [X] less [name] counters than before.
2.5.g Some objects have quick actions whose costs include "spending [X] of their [name] counters". In order to pay such costs, the object in question must have at least [X] [name] counters. Once the cost is paid, it has [X] less [name] counters.
2.5.h Most counters have no intrinsic impact on the game.
2.5.i When an object leaves the Expedition zone or the Landmark zone, it loses all its counters.
2.5.j When an object leaves the Discard pile, the Reserve, or the Limbo, it keeps its counters.
3.1.3.a Some zones are visible: they contain objects.
Remark. Adventure, Discard pile, Expedition zone, Hero zone, Landmark zone, Limbo, Reserve are visible zones.
3.1.3.b All players know the number and characteristics of objects in all visible zones.
3.1.3.c Some objects in visible zones are represented by face-down cards. These objects have no base characteristics.
3.1.3.d Some zones are hidden: they contain cards.
Remark. Deck, Hand, and Mana zone are hidden zones.
3.1.3.e All players know the number of cards in all hidden zones.
3.1.3.f Players cannot look at cards in hidden zones unless a rule, effect, or passive ability allows them to do so.
Remark. Costs and effects that use the characteristics of a card in a hidden zone reveal that card beforehand.
3.2.5.a The Hand is a private, hidden zone.
3.2.5.b Each player can look at and reorder their own Hand at any time.
3.2.5.c If an effect or a cost acts on a card in a Hand, it either chooses a card at random or it reveals that Hand to the player who chooses which card is affected.
3.2.9.a The Mana zone is a private, visible zone.
Remark. The Mana zone is a visible zone which contains face-down cards. Players may not look at the face of face-down cards in other players' Mana zone.
3.2.9.b When a player puts a card in the Mana zone, it enters the Mana zone face-down and Exhausted unless specified otherwise.
Remark. If that card was in a hidden zone prior to the move, that card is not revealed as it changes zones.
3.2.9.c Objects in the Mana zone have the type Mana Orbs.
3.2.9.d Players can look at the cards in their Mana zone at any time.
3.2.9.e Players can exhaust a Mana Orb to ready another Exhausted Mana Orb at any time.
3.2.9.f A mana cost can be paid by exhausting [X] Mana Orbs.
5.1.2.a The process of playing a card, quick action, reaction, or internal action has three parts: declare intent, pay costs, and resolution.
5.1.2.b In the declaration of intent, a player must, in no particular order:
1. Reveal the card being played, if it is in a hidden zone (usually, the Hand);
2. Choose modes, targets, and optional costs;
3. Declare how costs will be paid.
5.1.2.c The game state should not change during the declaration of intent. Once all these decisions have been taken, check whether the declaration is legal. If it is, proceed to the payment of costs. If it is not, the player must take different decisions (including the decision to play that particular card, quick action, reaction, or internal action).
5.1.2.d In the payment of costs, all costs must be paid simultaneously, as described in 6.4.
5.1.2.e During resolution, a Character card joins an Expedition, a Permanent card joins the Landmark zone, and a Spell, quick action, reaction or internal action performs its effect, as described in 6.5.
5.2.3.a Depending on its effect, playing a Spell card may require choices during the declaration of intent.
5.2.3.b Some effects have targets. During the declaration of intent, a suitable object, zone, or player must be chosen for each target in the effect. Each object, zone, or player may only be chosen once for each occurrence of the word "target" in the effect. If there are several occurrences of the word "target" in the effect, the same object, zone, or player may be chosen for more than one occurrence.
5.2.3.c Some Spells are modal: their effect contain the words "Choose one" followed by several lines starting with •. This choice is made during the declaration of intent.
5.2.3.d When choosing targets for a modal Spell, consider only the chosen mode.
5.2.3.e Some Spells have optional steps: they contain a sentence of the form "You may do [step]". The choice is made during resolution. If the step has a target, that target must be chosen during the declaration of the Spell, even if player does not intend to do that optional step.
5.2.3.f Some Spells have conditional steps: they contain a sentence of the form "If [condition] do [step]" or "Do [step] unless [condition]". The condition is evaluated during resolution. In particular, if the step has a target, that target must be chosen during the declaration of the Spell, even if the condition is not currently met.
5.2.3.g Some Spells have internal actions: they contain a sentence of the form "You may pay [cost] to do [effect]". The internal action is played during the resolution of the Spell. If the internal action's effect has a target, that target is not chosen until the Spell resolves. Note that internal actions are always optional.
5.2.3.h When a Spell card is moved to Limbo, if it was played from Reserve, it gains Fleeting .
5.2.3.i Some Spells have Fleeting as a passive ability in their text box. When such a Spell is played from anywhere, it gains the status Fleeting
.
5.2.3.j When a non-Fleeting Spell's resolution is done, that Spell moves to Reserve. When a Fleeting
Spell's resolution is done, that Spell moves to the Discard pile.
5.3.a Playing a quick action follows the same process as playing a Spell, with the following differences:
5.3.b As internal actions are not objects, they do not change zones.
5.3.c Some quick actions have the symbol in their cost. That cost is paid by exhausting the object bearing that quick action.
5.3.d A given quick action may not be played more than 100 times in a single day.
5.5.a Playing a Reaction follows the same process as playing a Spell, with the following differences:
5.5.b Reactions do not change zones during the declaration of intent.
5.5.c Reaction usually do not have costs, but they may get extra cost due to some passive abilitys such as Tough.
5.5.d If a Reaction has a cost, its controller may chose to play it wihout paying its cost. In this case, the Reaction has no effect.
5.5.e When a Reaction's resolution is done, that Reaction ceases to exist.
6.5.a Effects are usually mandatory.
6.5.b Some effects have optional steps. They are written "You may [do step]". The controller of the effect chooses whether to do [step] or not just before that step would happen. If they choose not to, the step is ignored and the effect continues resolving.
6.5.c Some effects have conditional steps. They are written "If [condition], [do step]" or "[Do Step] unless [condition]". The condition is evaluated just before that step would happen. If it is false in the first case, or true in the second, the step is ignored and the effect continues resolving.
6.5.d Some conditional effects are written "[Do X]; if you did, [do Y]" or "[You may do X]; if you did, [do Y]". The condition is true if the player started do [do X], even if that event was modified.
6.5.e Some effects are modal. They are written "Choose on" followed by multiple lines starting with •. The choice of mode is done when the spell, quick action, Reaction or internal action is declared, before its resolution. Modes that were not chosen are ignored.
6.5.f If part of an effect cannot be performed, it is ignored; the remainder of the effect happens as normal.
Example. Anubis has the reaction " Each player sacrifices a Character". If a player controls no Character and thus cannot sacrifice a Character, the other players still have to sacrifice a Character.
6.5.g Some effects include an internal action. They are written "You may [pay cost] to [do effect]". Paying the cost of an internal action is optional; if the player declines to pay the cost, the internal action is ignored and the resolution of the effect resumes.
7.3.3.a To create a token is to put a new character token in the Expedition zone.
7.3.3.b Costs and effects that create tokens use the following template: "create a [name] [x/y/z] [sub-types] token with [abilitys] in [expedition]".
Example. Open the Gates (common) has the effect "Create two Ordis Recruit 1/1/1 Soldier token in each of your Expeditions". When Open the Games resolves, four tokens are created. They all have the name "Ordis Recruit", the type "Character", the sub-type "Soldier", all three statistics equal to 1, and no abilitys.
7.3.6.a To "exhaust" an object means have it gain the status Exhausted.
7.3.6.b The symbol in the cost of a quick action means "exhaust me".
7.3.14.a To "play [a card] for free" to play that card while skipping the steps "determine costs" and "pay mana".
7.4.5.a Tough is a passive ability that appears on Characters and Permanents.
7.4.5.b Tough is always followed by a number.
7.4.5.c Spells, quick actions, reactions, and internal actions targeting an opposing object with Tough cost X more.
Remark. If a Spell is played "for free", the extra cost from Tough X is also waived.
Morning Phase
The term "Curve" refers to the mana curve or cost curve in a deck. It means that your deck should have a balanced number of cards at different costs to maximize the efficiency of your mana each turn. For example, you want to have cards that you can play on the first turn (1 mana), on the second turn (2 mana), and so on, so you never waste mana and can always play something relevant. Having a good "curve" means that your deck is well-balanced and that you can make the best use of your resources each turn.
"Value" refers to the overall advantage or benefit that a card or action brings you relative to its cost in resources (mana, cards, etc.). A card is said to have "value" when it offers a return superior to its cost, for example by providing more cards, resources or by having a significant impact on the game. Value can be calculated in terms of Card Advantage, Quality Advantage, or in terms of efficiency relative to invested resources. The more advantages a card or action brings you while costing little, the more value it has.
A "Vanilla" card is a card that has no special abilities or effect text. This type of card simply has basic characteristics such as strength and toughness (in the case of creatures), or a mana cost, but has no additional effect. These cards are often used as a reference or to simplify game mechanics.