Français English Italiano

Altered Glossary

Loaded JSON file : dictionary_2024-09-14_15-00-36.json
Number of entries : 14
View content sources

1.1.6 Numbers and symbols

1.1.6.a When the game uses a number, it is always an integer.

1.1.6.b If an event requires a division, it will precise whether to round up or down.

1.1.6.c If an event would need to divide a number by 0, that event cannot happen.

1.1.6.d If a calculation uses a missing number (e.g. the statistics of a non-Character card), it uses zero instead.

1.1.6.e The symbol etb means "When I join the Expedition zone".

1.1.6.f The symbol hand means "When I am played from Hand".

1.1.6.g The symbol reserve means "When I am played from Reserve".

1.1.6.h The symbol exhaust means "exhaust me"

1.1.6.i The symbol support means "Discard me from Reserve"

1.1.6.j A white [number] in a black or yellow circle (1, 2, …) in a cost means "Pay [that number] mana".

1.4 Golden rules

1.4.1 Can't beats can
1.4.1.a If a rule or a passive ability says that it is impossible to do something, and a cost or an effect tries to do that thing, then the thing cannot be done.
1.4.1.b An impossible cost cannot be paid.
1.4.1.c An impossible effect cannot be performed. If other parts of the effect can happen, the rest of the effect resolves normally.
1.4.1.d If it impossible to modify an impossible event, even if the modified event would itself be possible.

1.4.2 Specific beats general
1.4.2.a If a card allows a player to do something that they cannot normally do, or to do it in a different way, the card takes priority.

1.4.3 My cards, my zones
1.4.3.a If a card ownered by a player would move to a zone belonging to another player, it goes to its owner's corresponding zone instead.

1.4.4 New zone, new object
1.4.4.a Objects do not change Zones, the items that represent them does. Most effects that relate to an object in a zone will not be able to follow it to another zone, a common exception being the event which moves an object.

1.4.5 Initiative order
1.4.5.a If both players need to take decisions simultaneously, the player with initiative (the player who is currently taking their turn, or the first player during non-Afternoon phases) must decide first. If that choice involves an object from a visible zone, their opponent knows which object they have chosen. If the choice involves a card from a hidden zone, they must make their choice explicit, but they do not need to reveal the chosen card.

++Example. Ninette plays a game against Lithium. During her turn, Ninette plays Kitsune from her Hand. Kitsune has the reaction "hand Each player may Resupply". She must let Lithium know whether or not she chooses to Resupply before he takes his decision. However, if she chooses to Resupply, Lithium will not see Ninette's top card until after he decides whether to Resupply or not.
In his turn, Lithium plays Anubis , which has the reaction "etb Each player sacrifices a Character". Lithium must choose which Character to sacrifice before Ninette, and Ninette knows which Character he chose to sacrifice when she makes her choice. Both Characters are sacrificed simultaneously.++

1.4.6 Nothing is forever
1.4.6.a The interaction of some cards may lead to seemingly endless loops. In order to resolve these situations, there are limits to the number of times things can happen in a single day.
1.4.6.b A given quick action may only be played a hundred times per day.
1.4.6.c A given reaction may only activate a hundred times per day.

2.1 Objects

2.1.a Objects exist in every visible zone. Each object belongs to a single zone at any given time.

2.1.b Objects can be represented in different ways: Altered cards, tokens, Adventure cards, halves of Tumult cards, and emblems.

2.1.c Objects never change zones. When a cost or an effect "moves" an object, it moves the item representing that object, which becomes a new object with a new timestamp if it ends up in a visible zone. Effects relating to the old object do not apply to the new one (see Rule 2.1.e).

Example. Lithium has Haven, Bravos Bastion and plays Kuwat, the Dissenter from Reserve. This triggers the two reactions of Kuwat, its native "etb Sacrifice a Character" and the one granted by Haven "reserve I gain 1 boost". If Lithium decide to play the etb reaction first and to sacrifice Kuwat, then the reserve reaction will not boost Kuwat in the Discard pile as it is not the same object as Kuwat in the Expedition zone which triggered the reserve reaction.

2.1.d If a token would leave the Expedition zone, it ceases to exist immediately after joining its new zone. This is an additive event-modifying rule.

2.1.e If an ability refers to a card or an object moving from any zone to a visible zone (as part of a cost, a trigger, or an effect), that ability can find the new object in its destination zone. This is an exception to Rule 2.1.c .

++Example. Moonlight Jellyfish has the reaction "When I'm sacrificed, if I'm not Fleeting — Put me in Reserve".


2.1.f Rule 2.1.e can apply through more than one zone change, as long as they all come from the ability itself.

Example. Coppélia has the reaction "When I go to Reserve from your Handl You may play me for free and I gain Asleep" endormi. Coppélia in Reserve, Coppélia in Limbo, and Coppélia in the Expedition zone are three different objects, but the effect of Coppélia's reaction in Reserve can act on the two other Coppélias as it is that effect that moved the card from Reserve to Limbo and to the Expedition zone.

2.1.g Cards in hidden zones are not objects.

2.1.h Zones are not objects: they are sets of objects or cards.

2.1.i Counters are not objects: they are markers placed on objects.

2.2.2 Subtypes

2.2.2.a Characters, Spells, Permanents, Regions, and Emblems may have sub-types.

2.2.2.b Heroes have no sub-types.

2.2.2.c An object may have any number of sub-types.

2.2.2.d The list of character sub-types is: Adventurer, Animal, Apprentice, Artist, Bureaucrat, Citizen, Companion, Deity, Dragon, Druid, Elemental, Engineer, Fairy, Leviathan, Mage, Messenger, Noble, Plant, Robot, Soldier, Scholar, Spirit, Titan, Trainer.

2.2.2.e The list of permanent sub-types is: Landmark.

2.2.2.f The list of region sub-types is: Forest (forest), Mountain (mountain), Water (water).

2.2.2.g The list of spell sub-types is: Boon, Conjuration, Disruption, Maneuver, Song.

2.2.2.h The list of emblem sub-types is: Reaction, Ongoing.

2.2.2.i The sub-types of a card are written on the type line, just below the name of the card. They are to the right of the dash; if there is more than one sub-type, they are separated by commas.

2.2.2.j The sub-types of a token are defined by the effect that creates it. They are written after the statistics of the token, separated by commas.

Example. Foundry Armorer has the reaction "reserve Create a Brassbug 2/2/2 Robot token in target Expedition". The sub-type of the token created when this reaction resolves is "Robot".

2.2.2.k The sub-types of the hero region, companion region, and the arena are Forest (forest), Mountain (mountain), and Water (water).

Remark. Regions represented by face-down Tumult cards have no sub-types.

2.2.2.l The sub-types of regions represented face-up Tumult cards are described by symbols on the side of the regions.

2.2.2.m The sub-type of an emblem created as a reaction triggers is Reaction. The sub-type of an emblem created by an effect that lasts longer than its own resolution is Ongoing.

Example. Aloe Vera has the reaction "At Noonl Resupply". As the Noon phase begins, Aloe Vera's controller creates an Emblem-Reaction in Limbo with the text "Resupply". When that Reaction is played, its effect resolves, then it ceases to exist.

Example. Celebration Day has the effect "Expeditions can´t move forward this Day". When that effect resolves, an Emblem-Ongoing is created in Limbo with the passive ability "Expeditions can't move forward" and the duration "this Day".

2.2.2.n When a cost or an effect refers to "a sub-type", it refers to an object in play with the appropriate sub-type.

Example. Three Little Pigs has the reaction "etb If you control two or more Landmarks, I gain 1 boost". When that Reaction resolves, it only counts the Landmarks in the Landmark zone, not those in Reserve or in the Discard pile.

2.2.2.o When a cost or an effect checks whether a specific card or object is "a [sub-type]", it checks whether that card or that object has the appropriate sub-type, regardless of its location.

2.2.2.p Some effects have objects gain or lose types. These effects actually mean gaining or losing sub-types.

Example. The Kraken has the ability "All regions are water and lose their other types". When the Kraken is in play, regions keep the type Region and lose the forest and mountain sub-types.

2.2.3 Name

2.2.3.a The name of an object is a series of words and symbols.

2.2.3.b An object has only one name, even if it contains several words.

2.2.3.c The name of an object is its English name, even if it is represented by a card printed in a different language.

Example. Fée Clochette is the French version of Tinker Bell. The name of an object represented by that card is Tinker Bell.

2.2.3.d The name of an object represented by a Permanent card is written in the middle of the card, below the rarity gem and above the type line.

2.2.3.e The name of an object represented by a non-Permanent card is written on the top of the card, below the rarity gem.

Remark. Cards with the same name may have different characteristics, if they have different raritys, different factions, or they are unique.

2.2.3.f The name of a token is defined by the effect that creates it. It is composed of the words written before its statistics.

Example. Ordis Cadets has the reaction "etb Create an Ordis Recruit 1/1/1 Soldier token in my Expedition". The name of the token created when this Reaction resolves is "Ordis Recruit".

2.2.3.g Emblems have no name.

2.2.10 Abilities

2.2.10.a Abilitys are either quick actions, reactions, passive abilitys, or effects.

2.2.10.b The abilitys of an object represented by a card are written in the ability box, below the illustration.

2.2.10.c Text in italics in the ability box has no existence rules-wise.

2.2.10.d Some abilitys are written in a box inside the ability box with a coloured background and white or yellow text. Such abilitys are support abilitys.

++Example. The textbox of Haven Trainee has the following text:
reserve I gain two boosts.
"All right, lad, show me what you've learned."
support: The next Character you play this turn gains 1 boost. (Discard me from Reserve to do this.)
Haven Trainee (rare) has a two abilitys: "reserve I gain two boosts." and "support: The next Character you play this turn gains 1 boost.". The first one is an in play ability and the second one is a support ability. "All right, lad, show me what you've learned." is flavour text and "(Discard me from Reserve to do this.)" is reminder text.++

2.2.10.e The abilitys of a Character represented by a token are defined by the effect that creates it. They are written between quotation marks and preceded by "with", after the location in which the token is created.

Example. Lindiwe & Maw has the quick action "exhaust: Create a Maw 0/0/0 Companion token in your companion Expedition with "When you sacrifice a Character l I gain two boosts". This action costs 1 more if you are not the first player". The token created by this quick action has the reaction "When you sacrifice a Character l I gain two boosts".

2.2.10.f Unless otherwise specified, the abilitys of an object only work while this object is in play.

2.2.10.g Support abilitys only work while the object is in the Reserve.

2.2.10.h Quick actions are written "Cost: Effect".

Remark. Some quick actions use symbols as part of their costs: exhaust means "Exhaust me" and support means "Discard me from Reserve". See 7.1.4 "Cost symbols".

2.2.10.i Reactions are written "Triggerl Effect".

Remark. Some reactions use symbols as triggers: etb means "When I enter play from anywhere l"; hand means "When I am played from Handl"; reserve means "When I am played from Reservel". See 7.1.1 "Trigger symbols"

2.2.10.j Passive abilitys are written as statements. They may create or alter rules, change the characteristics of objects, or modify the way costs and effects affect the game.

2.2.10.k Effects are written as instructions to change to the game state.

6.1 Costs and Events

6.1.a Costs and effect are sequences of instructions that affect the game state. Paying a cost or resolving an effect consist in following these instructions.

6.1.b An effect may involve multiple steps.

6.1.c There is a separate step for each verb in an effect description, unless these verbs are said to happen "simultaneously"

Example. Spy Craft has the effect "Sabotage, then Resupply". The resolution of Spy Craft involves two steps. In the first step, the controller of Spy Craft performs Sabotage. In the second step, they perform Resupply.

6.1.d Costs always have a single step.

Example. Subhash & Marmo have the Reaction "At Noon l You may pay 1 and put a card from your Hand in Reserve to create a Brassbug 2/2/2 Robot token in target Expedition". Paying 1 and putting a card from Hand to to Reserve happen in the same step.

6.1.e A single step may involve multiple objects. In this case, there is a separate atomic action for each affected object.

Example. Open the Gates has the effect "Create two Ordis Recruit 1/1/1 Soldier tokens in each of you Expeditions". There is only one step in the resolution of Open the Gates. It has four atomic actions, one for each token.

6.1.f Atomic actions in a single Step happen simultaneously.

6.1.g Some steps require decisions by more than one player. Such choices are made in initiative order. If that choice involves an object from a visible zone, other players know which object has been chosen. If the choice involves a card from a hidden zone, they must make their choice explicit, but they do not need to reveal the chosen card.

++Example. Ninette plays a game against Lithium. During her turn, Ninette plays Kitsune from her Hand. Kitsune has the reaction "hand Each player may Resupply". She must let Lithium know whether or not she chooses to Resupply before he takes his decision. However, if she chooses to Resupply, Lithium will not see Ninette's top card until after he decides whether to Resupply or not.
In his turn, Lithium plays Anubis , which has the reaction "etb Each player sacrifices a Character". Lithium must choose which Character to sacrifice before Ninette, and Ninette knows which Character he chose to sacrifice when she makes her choice. Both Characters are sacrificed simultaneously.++

6.3 Reactions

6.3.a Some abilitys are Reactions. They are written "Triggerl Effect".

6.3.b Reactions are additive modifiers which apply to events matching their trigger and add the atomic action "Create an Emblem-Reaction in Limbo with the effect of that reaction".

6.3.c A Reaction that modified an event has been "activated" by that event.

6.3.d A reaction has to exist before the event that triggers it, except if it is a reaction of an object that triggers specifically on that object entering a visible zone.

Example. Régis plays Mind Apotheosis and puts Asmodeus in play while resolving Mind Apotheosis' effect. The etb reaction of Asmodeus triggers, even though it did not exist before the event that triggered it.

6.3.e A reaction does not need to exist after the event that triggers it.

Example. Bob plays Mana Reaping on Alice's Armored Jammer. As Mana Reaping resolves, Armored Jammer's reaction "When I leave your Landmark zone - Sabotage" triggers, even though it does not exist anymore after the event.

6.3.f A given Reaction cannot be activated more than 100 times in a single day. If a Reaction would be activated a 101st time, the event that would activate it stays unmodified.

6.5 Effects

6.5.a Effects are usually mandatory.

6.5.b Some effects have optional steps. They are written "You may [do step]". The controller of the effect chooses whether to do [step] or not just before that step would happen. If they choose not to, the step is ignored and the effect continues resolving.

6.5.c Some effects have conditional steps. They are written "If [condition], [do step]" or "[Do Step] unless [condition]". The condition is evaluated just before that step would happen. If it is false in the first case, or true in the second, the step is ignored and the effect continues resolving.

6.5.d Some conditional effects are written "[Do X]; if you did, [do Y]" or "[You may do X]; if you did, [do Y]". The condition is true if the player started do [do X], even if that event was modified.

6.5.e Some effects are modal. They are written "Choose on" followed by multiple lines starting with •. The choice of mode is done when the spell, quick action, Reaction or internal action is declared, before its resolution. Modes that were not chosen are ignored.

6.5.f If part of an effect cannot be performed, it is ignored; the remainder of the effect happens as normal.

Example. Anubis has the reaction "etb Each player sacrifices a Character". If a player controls no Character and thus cannot sacrifice a Character, the other players still have to sacrifice a Character.

6.5.g Some effects include an internal action. They are written "You may [pay cost] to [do effect]". Paying the cost of an internal action is optional; if the player declines to pay the cost, the internal action is ignored and the resolution of the effect resumes.

7.1.1 Trigger symbols

7.1.1.a The symbol etb means "When I enter play".

7.1.1.b The symbol hand means "When I am played from Hand".

7.1.1.c The symbol reserve means "When I am played from Reserve".

Remark. If an object enters play without being played (either because it is a token or as the result of an effect), its etb reaction triggers, but not its hand or reserve.

7.2 Pronouns

7.2.1 I
7.2.1.a When an ability uses the first person, it refers to the object that is bearing it.

7.2.1.b When an emblem or a reaction uses the first person, it refers to the object which created that emblem or reaction.

Example. Ratatoskr has the ability "reserve I gain 2 boosts". When that reaction resolves, the object only the Ratatoskr bearing that ability gains 2 boosts.

7.2.2 You

7.2.2.a When an ability uses the second person, it refers to its controller.

Example. Charge! has the effect "etb Characters you control gain 1 boost". When Charge! resolves, the Characters controlled by Charge!'s controller gain 1 boost.

7.2.3 They

7.2.3.a Altered uses the singular "they" for players.

7.2.4 It

7.2.4.a Altered uses the neutral third person for objects and cards.

7.3.1 Activates

7.3.1.a An "event activates [a reaction]" means that that event has been modified by that reaction (by creating an Emblem-Reaction) with that Reaction's effect.

7.3.1.b Some steps say "Activate [a reaction]". When that step occurs, it is modified by that reaction.

7.3.1.c Some earlier printings have effects that say "Activate [a trigger]" instead of a

7.3.1.d If an ability of an object activates a trigger of another object, the reaction that triggers is created by the second object, not the first.

Example. Brassbug Hub has the reaction "etb I gain three Kelon counters" and Dr. Frankenstein has the reaction "reserve You may activate the etb triggers of target Permanent you control". If Brassbug Hub is chosen as the target Dr. Frankenstein's reaction, Brassbug Hub gains three Kelon counters, not Dr. Frankenstein.

7.3.1.e Some abilitys say that [a trigger] "cannot activate". Reactions containing this trigger cannot trigger, whether naturally or through another effect that would activate them.

Example. The Council has the ability "The etb, hand, and reserve triggers of Characters facing me don't activate and Hua Mulan has the ability "reserve I lose Fleeting fugace". If Hua Mulan is played from Reserve in the expedition facing The Council, it does not loose Fleeting fugace.

7.4.3 Gigantic

7.4.3.a Gigantic is a passive ability that appears on Characters.

7.4.3.b A Gigantic object is present in both expeditions of its controller.

7.4.3.c When a player plays a card with Gigantic or creates a token with Gigantic, they play it or create it in a specific Expedition. They do not put two cards or two tokens in play.

7.4.3.d When a Gigantic object enters the Expedition zone, its etb, hand, and reserve trigger only once.

7.4.3.e A gigantic character's statistics are counted in each of its controller's expeditions.

7.4.3.f If an effect refers to a gigantic character's expedition, it refers to each of its controller's expeditions.

7.4.3.g If an effect refers to the other expedition of a gigantic character's controller, it refers to no expeditions.

7.4.3.h If an effect refers to the expedition facing a gigantic character, it refers to the expeditions facing each of its controller's expeditions.

7.4.3.i During tiebreakers, a gigantic character's statistics are counted twice for their controllers total statistics.

7.4.3.j If a Gigantic Character would switch Expeditions, the card or token representing it switches Expeditions. The Character itself does not leave nor join either Expedition.

7.4.3.k If a Gigantic Character would lose Gigantic, it remains in the Expedition containing the card or token that represents it and leaves the other Expedition of its controller.

7.5.1 Abilities

7.5.1.a A "etb ability" (resp. "hand ability", "reserve ability") is a reaction whose trigger includes the symbol etb (resp. hand, reserve).

7.5.1.b Earlier printings refer to "etb, hand, reserve triggers" instead of etb, hand, reserve abilitys.

×

Content Sources